Skip to content

The Kitchen Renovation

April 1, 2007

We’ve been so blessed with our kitchen renovation/addition project. We passed all four of our inspections last week. After a problem with a window coming in at the wrong size not once–but TWICE–it finally arrived the correct size and is installed without putting us behind schedule. We’re on track, thanks to Josh’s careful planning (and working every night on the house after work) and the help of so many friends each weekend. The Lord has helped me be content with the mess and at peace with the upheaval of having our kitchen completely packed up and stored in our dining room. Our small group at church has been so generous to us this past week bringing us three meals, and this coming week will be bringing two more! What a huge blessing and help!

We’ve been praying the truth of Psalm 127:1, “Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain.” Without His help, none of this would be taking place.

Here’s a few pictures of the “kitchen” earlier last week:

Before drywall 1

Before drywall 2

On Saturday, Josh and our friends, Miguel and Chris got the drywall up!

Drywall 1

Drywall 2

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2007 9:22 pm

    Looking good! I can’t wait to see the final product. 🙂

  2. Fishmama permalink
    April 1, 2007 10:07 pm

    Very cool!

    What an inspiration, too. We remodeled our house in CA almost completely. (It was hard to say goodbye.) But, I don’t think that our efforts were God-centered. What a wonderful testimony to God’s work in your lives, that you are already giving Him all the praise. I wish I had had a different attitude, but am thankful for the conviction that your post has brought to my heart. Thanks for sharing! Who knew this kind of post could bring conviction of sin. 🙂 Thanks.

  3. Janice permalink
    April 2, 2007 11:52 am

    I love the french doors/windows…such great light!

  4. Ashleigh permalink
    April 2, 2007 6:55 pm

    Danielle, what amazing work!

  5. anne permalink
    April 3, 2007 10:06 am

    It is looking really great! You guys are doing a great job! I am loving how great the house is coming together, it is going to be so great when it is finally done! Well worth all the work!

  6. April 3, 2007 11:16 pm

    Looking good. Won’t be long and you will be back in your kitchen cooking and eating.

    Hey when is your due date??? You are getting close right

  7. April 3, 2007 11:16 pm

    PS I love all the windows

  8. April 4, 2007 8:22 am

    I am getting close. This is “crunch month” for the house, baby supplies, bag packing, and everything!! I’m technically due June 4th but my Dr. said to consider 37 weeks my due date. I’m 31 weeks right now. I want to be ready to go by the beginning of May, just in case, as twins have a habit of coming a month early.

    A good thing is one baby is pretty much in vertex position and the other’s head is moving down too (we had a sono Mon.).

  9. April 4, 2007 11:36 am

    I thought it was coming up soon and with twins figured it would be even sooner….I don’t think I ever knew your official date. Lucky girl. I can’t wait to see your little guys. I have been praying you can have the birth you want.

  10. bethyoung permalink
    April 4, 2007 5:51 pm

    Looks great!!!! Can’t wait to see it in person;.

Leave a Reply

