Skip to content

Before and Now

January 30, 2007

This post is called “Before and Now” because we still haven’t gotten to the “Before and After” stage yet, in working on our house. But here’s where we are now.
Old PorchHere’s the way our house looked when we bought it, minus two bushes on either side of the little porch.

 

New Porch

Here’s the new front of our house, with a full-size porch, new windows, door, and siding.

Back of the house

This was the back of the house until a few weeks ago.

Footprint

Then a footprint was dug for the new extension onto the kitchen and the footers were poured.

Replacing bandboard

Josh and our friend Piotr (who’s helped consistently!) then replaced the rotted bandboard this past Saturday, which supports the edge of the house. In this picture, they had jacks holding the house up. We’re on huge push to get the kitchen enclosed and installed while also doing work on the babies’ room, which needs electrical work, trim, and to be painted.

The babies’ room used to be a office/storage area and I’ve sadly packed up a good many of my books and art supplies for the time being, until we’ve figured out further storage solutions. I only have a few things left to take down in that room like my drafting table and to clean out the closet and figure out where to put four guitar cases! Guess what I’ll be doing Saturday?

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2007 10:12 pm

    Love the porch! Great lighting looks so homey!!!!!

  2. January 30, 2007 11:08 pm

    ah yes, the dreaded storage solutions..even with a place with WAY more square footage and an extra room I am still have issues and I am NOT a pack rat at all. I swear!
    Anyway, about the house…too cute! Loving the changes it is looking good! i know how much work it is (not that I have done it , but I have seen my best friend and her hubby do it to their home) and it is a lot of work so I tip my hat to the two of you! What is withme….tip my hat>? I never really talk that way! 🙂

  3. briana permalink
    January 31, 2007 8:13 am

    I love the front porch, too! WOW..what a lot of work you’ve already done. I’ll pray when you may be tempted to see all the work that remains and fear, that instead you will see all that’s already been accomplished and give thanks, trusting that God will enable ya’ll to do so in His perfect time.

  4. January 31, 2007 10:32 am

    Wow! I’m definitely inspired…

    That looks like the perfect front porch for lazy summer evening jam sessions (not that y’all haven’t thought of that already). 🙂

  5. January 31, 2007 3:30 pm

    Wow!!!! Looking great!!! I second what Briana says. Take lots of pics it makes you feel good at what you have accomplished instead of being overwhelmed by all there is left to do.

  6. bethyoung permalink
    January 31, 2007 11:13 pm

    Wow, it’s looking so cute and homey. A simple, yet very tasteful home with a totally hip mamma chasing two crazy boys around. Just what you’ve always envisioned, I’m sure!

  7. February 1, 2007 12:07 am

    That is ADORABLE!

  8. February 1, 2007 8:21 am

    Wow, Danielle. A work in progress, and you’ve seen some progress!! It looks great, I love the porch too. Bet you can’t wait for summer. I love these before and after pics.

  9. Ashleigh permalink
    February 1, 2007 8:45 am

    Danielle, wow! You guys have put so much work into your home and it’s looking great. I love the changes you’re making — especially the front porch. I’ve always thought (even though our current house only has a small front porch), that big porches are so cozy and inviting.

  10. February 1, 2007 10:23 am

    wow! what a difference that makes on the front of the house! can’t wait to see the new back.

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about “before and now” pictures…we, too, won’t have any “afters” for QUITE some time 🙂

Leave a Reply

