Skip to content

Barefoot Contessa

January 16, 2007

Ever heard of the Barefoot Contessa? No, not the movie, but the Ina Garten’s food business. I’ve been enjoying Barefoot Contessa at Home, which I checked out from the library, and I think all you foodies would enjoy her books too. This book is the type that I read as well as check out the recipes. She has a whole section on making your home welcoming to guests. Barefoot Contessa started out as a specialty food store, then cookbooks started to be published and now there’s a television show. Her books feature easy to make recipes and you can sample some of them online. I especially love her scone recipes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2007 3:53 pm

    I love her. Did you know she worked in the White House with Clinton? I don’t hold that against her. Do you watch her show?

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    January 16, 2007 3:57 pm

    Oh, I love watching her show on the Food Network. I’ve made her mini meatloafs before and they are yummy!

  3. January 16, 2007 8:11 pm

    I’ll have to check it out. I think I’ve caught her once or twice on tv, not sure. Always love hearing 3-4 recomedations of teh same cookook/chef .

  4. January 16, 2007 9:24 pm

    My mom gave me this book for Christmas! It looks like a good one.

  5. January 16, 2007 10:36 pm

    I just got my mom a barefoot contessa cookbook for her birthday. She really has some great recipes.

  6. January 17, 2007 9:21 am

    I did know she worked at the White House at some point, but have never seen her show. Don’t get the Food Network, which is probably a good thing. Someone in my church actually used to work for her when she had her shop, and actually her whole family has worked for her at various points. I think her mom is still her personal assistant. She says Ina Garten is very nice.

  7. bethyoung permalink
    January 17, 2007 9:44 am

    Sounds great! I’m such a non-diverse cook! I cook the same things all the time and it doesn’t smell amazing by any stretch of the imagination but I sure am into making a home smell good and look cozy! I’m a firm believer in ambiance and always have candles and flowers as well 🙂

  8. January 17, 2007 10:12 am

    I love the internet! After reading your recommendation, I clicked on the library link, was automatically signed in, searched for the book, hit request and voila, they’ll call me when it’s in. Love it.

  9. January 17, 2007 1:35 pm

    I am SO like Beth…not diverse in my cooking. I did get a Giada cookbook (everyday Italian ) for Christmas and am loving the 2 recipies I tried from her book. I will check this one out for sure!

  10. January 18, 2007 11:27 am

    I like the Everyday Italian show too, I’ve seen it a few times.

  11. Ashleigh permalink
    January 20, 2007 9:35 am

    Anne, I like Everyday Italian too. I’ve made her classic lasagna recipe several times.

    Danielle, I’m hooked on the Food Network ever since we started getting it a couple years ago! I’ve even managed to convince Olivia that she likes to watch “cooking” with me.

    Has anyone watched Paula Deen or the show Semi-Homemade? Paula Deen is so funny and Sandra on Semi-Homemade gives great ideas on how to save time cooking but still come away with it not tasting like shortcuts were taken.

Leave a Reply

