Skip to content

Tagged

January 14, 2007

Book Meme
For those of you who don’t know….
In the context of web logs / ‘blogs / blogging and other kinds of personal web sites it’s some kind of list of questions that you saw somewhere else and you decided to answer the questions. Then someone else sees them and does them and so on and so on. I generally consider these to be actual questions and not some multiple choice quizzes that determine some result at the end (what color you are most like, what cartoon character are you, what 80s movie are you).
– Thedailymeme.com

Sometimes these show up in the form of “tag”.
Here’s how this tag goes:

1) Grab the book closest to you
2) Open to page 123, go down to the fourth sentence
3) Post the text of the following 3 sentences
4) Name the author and book title
5) Tag three people to do the same

The book closest to me was a stack of library books, all recipe books except The Official Lamaze Guide: Giving Birth with Confidence. What else did you expect from a first time pregnant girl except a book on childbirth? Plus most of you girls are all  quoting spiritual books, so I may as well mix it up. 🙂

Recent research supports the traditional practice of keeping mothers and newborns together. Evidence shows that this is a key element of nature’s plan. Women experiencing normal birth have high levels of catecholamines, oxytocin, and endorphins. Catecholmines ensure that mother and baby are alert and ready to get to know each other.”

This books has been great for me and eased so many of my birthing fears. Although I didn’t agree with everything, the basic philosophy of the book I did agree with and it’s boosted my confidence and has made me look forward and be excited about the whole experience.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 8:51 am

    It’s amazing how the whole pregnancy experience helps us learn more about our bodies and how wonderfully and fearfully made we are. I hadn’t heard what you posted before. It amazes me-the science behind everything God does….or vice versa. Did you ever go see “Miss Potter”? I’m looking for your review 🙂

  2. January 15, 2007 6:51 pm

    Catecholmines, huh? Never heard of ’em, but I think it’s funny how “recent research supports’ God, as if He needs it.

    Anyway, does it say how long those catecholmines stick around? My hunch is recent research says they disappeat at purberty, when kids dont’ want to be seen with theier paretns, let alone get to know them.

    lol .

  3. January 16, 2007 9:41 am

    Beth, I haven’t seen “Miss Potter” yet. I don’t think it’s out in our area. I’ll be checking, though. Zoanna, you’re so funny.

Leave a Reply

