Skip to content

What I Read This Year

January 1, 2007

I’m continuing the tradition of posting what I read this year. It’s also got it’s own page as you can see above. Anyway, it was a great year of reading. Now my life mostly consists of reading pregnancy and baby stuff. Anyway, thought I’d post this and invite you to recommend any books you read that were particularly fabulous or meaningful. Also, feel free to join in on reading and the discussion of Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis over at the Bloggers’ Book Club.

Fiction

Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad**
Middlemarch – George Elliot****
Light from Heaven – Jan Karon***
Rebecca – Daphane du Maureir****
Mansfield Park – Jane Austen****
Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen***
Memoirs of a Geisha – Aurther Golden***
Peace Like a River – Leif Enger***
Till We Have Faces – C. S. Lewis***

Non-Fiction

A Lamp Unto My Feet – Elisabeth Elliot***
A Passion for the Impossible: The Life of Lilias Trotter – Miriam Huffman Rockness****
Humility: True Greatness – C.J. Mahaney***
The Legacy of Sovereign Joy: God’s Triumphant Grace in the Lives of Augustine, Luther, and Calvin – John Piper***
A Place of Quiet Rest – Nancy Leigh DeMoss****
Eats, Shoots & Leaves – Lynne Truss****
Twelve Extraordinary Women – John MacArthur****
Questioning Evangelism – Randy Newman****
Terrify No More – Gary Haugen****
Almost French: Love And a New Life In Paris – Sarah Turnbull***
Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith – Anne Lamott***
Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise – Ruth Reichl***
Elizabeth and Mary: Cousins, Rivals, Queens – Jane Dunn***
Famous Women Hymn Writers – Betty Carlson, Jane Stuart Smith***
Key:
*Didn’t like
**Good
***Very Good
****Excellent

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2007 4:00 pm

    Wow! Thanks for posting this Danielle. Before grad school and kids, I used to read constantly. But now, I always have great ambitions of reading book after book and there seems to be so little time. Right now I have a several books on my “to read” list. Hopefully I’ll be able to get to them soon.

    Looking forward to reading and discussing Till We Have Faces.

  2. January 2, 2007 11:51 am

    Yes, I’ll be reading a lot up until the babies come. With no time and no more bus ride, I’m sure you’ll see next year’s list take a blow! 🙂

  3. January 2, 2007 1:13 pm

    You’ll still have some time to read. Don’t worry 🙂 Babies do change everything, but as long as you keep it a priority for yourself, you’ll do it. Great post, you motivate me to read. Perhaps I’ll purchase an US Weekly this week. JUST KIDDING!

  4. January 2, 2007 6:41 pm

    When I nurse I consume books by the truck load. All that sitting around every two hours makes for lots of reading time. It is when they are 1 and you are chasing them everywhere that reading starts to suffer. HEE HEE.

  5. January 2, 2007 9:16 pm

    Oh right, forgot about nursing, but remember I’ll have two! I don’t know if that makes a difference. But I remember my mom always read a lot and did her devotions while nursing.

  6. January 3, 2007 6:18 pm

    Oh sure…that just means more time to read or more area to set your book on. HEE HEE.

    Hey when they get a little older bath time is also a good time. Obviously not when they need your undivided attention. But my boys now I get them in the tub get them all soaped up and hair washed and then sit on the pot watching them with one eye and reading with the other. Actually they are so wild in the tub I know when I have to look up from the book. They love to take baths and never want to get out so I let them stay in there and get all pruny and cold. So the reading has helped me be patient versus in a hurry to get them out. Win win for both of us.

  7. January 3, 2007 6:21 pm

    One more thing Danielle,
    Do any of the Knitting books that you have teach the circular knitting like for hats where you don’t have to stitch up the side? I want to learn that next. My boys all want hats and so I would rather learn that way right off. My book doesn’t have that.

Leave a Reply

