Skip to content

Miss Potter

December 31, 2006

Beatrix Potter

I’m very excited about the new movie, Miss Potter, starring Renee Zellweger and Ewan MacGregor. It’s a movie based on the life of Beatrix Potter. Beatrix Potter’s art was a huge inspiration when I was young. As a child, enraptured by her illustrations, I copied her work into my sketchbooks by the hundreds. Once a little older, I read a biography and was fascinated by her interesting life. Like many Victorian children, she was paid little mind to by her parents, and instead was raised by nannies and governesses. She didn’t fit into the high society of her parents and instead was interested in nature and painting. If you ever get to see her botanical watercolors that aren’t published in her children’s books, you can’t help but be amazed by the detail and delicacy of her brushwork.

Apparently, this movie deals with her “love affair with her publisher Norman Warne.” I can’t remember from the biographies much about a love affair. Maybe at my age I just didn’t pay much attention to that aspect. Apparently it is true she was engaged to Norman Warne but he died before they were able to marry. Anyway, I might have to reread her biography again. I hope the movie ends up being good and they stick as closely as possible to her real life story. For a brief biographical sketch, check this out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2007 11:05 am

    Whether the romance was that important in the life of Beatrix Potter is irrelevant. Any biographical movie has to be about a romance. What else is interesting in the life of another person, after all?

    Saw a blurb for a movie coming out about Jane Austen “and the Irish man who inspired her.” Or something. Because obviously Jane Austen’s broken engagement, and the fact that she never married again, must be the driving point of her art. Or at least of her movie.

    — SJ

  2. January 1, 2007 12:39 pm

    This is true, Sara. I know Beatrix Potter had a very happy marriage in her middle age to late years, but obviously that’s not nearly as romantic as “lost love” in youth. Apparently, though, she was actually engaged to Norman Warne, but he died before they were able to marry. As I said, I’ll have to reread a biography on her because I don’t remember that at all. I am eager to see the movie though, regardless.

    Hmmm, if they’re going to make a whole movie up about Jane Austen and her broken engagement, it’ll have to be almost complete fiction. I don’t think they’re even sure who the guy was. I know there’s scant info. on that part of her life.

  3. January 1, 2007 10:50 pm

    Oh I want to see this too. I loved her books and art…and I love her name. HEE HEE.

  4. January 2, 2007 1:37 pm

    Actually, I don’t know that the Jane Austen movie is about her broken engagement. I just assumed so, and thus assuming, am saving myself the trouble of seeing the movie. Efficient, no?

    — SJ

Leave a Reply

