Skip to content

Double Trouble

December 4, 2006

On Friday Josh and I went to our first sonogram. We were excited to actually get to “see” the baby. I carefully drank all the water I was supposed to and we waited for our turn as I tried not to need to use the rest room too much.

We got back to the sonogram room and the sonogram technician got me ready and started the moving the little sonogram “wand” (what’s it really called?) around my belly. She was pretty brief, I hardly got a look until she put it down and asked if we conceived naturally. I thought that was weird, but I later realized she was basically trying to find out if we used in vitro or anything like that. Then she said, “Well, we’ve got a lot to talk about today.” She kind of leaned towards me looking rather serious and I thought, Oh no, something’s wrong.

But instead she said, “You’re going to have twins.”

I think I stared at her rather blankly. “Are you serious!?!” I exclaimed. I looked at her, then Josh, then at the monitor, then back at her.

Then she picked up the sonogram “wand” and started to show us. First we saw a view of them together and then she zoomed into each one. They were very active and tossing around, sucking their thumbs, and it was fascinating as she measured their necks, explained what we were seeing, and shot close-ups.

I kept laughing and said, “There’s no twins in my family!” Josh was pretty calm and she asked who would get the news first. “Our moms,” we both agreed. I was laughing so much she finally had to remind me to try to be still so she could get better readings. She finally got all she needed, took pictures for us, and recommended a book for me. Then off we went to get blood work done and then leave.

Josh and I got in the car and prayed first thing, asking God’s protection for them. Then we called our moms and at that point we had to leave for work, but we continued calling all of our family!

Josh’s aunt has twins less than two years old, but I didn’t know of any twins in my family until I talked to my grandmother, who told me her aunt had twins and there also was another set somewhere on her side. I’d never known that, and it was three generations back.

The whole sonogram experience almost seems like a unreal blur now. I’m half afraid they’ll find they’ve made a mistake now that we’ve told everyone, although it was quite real when we were looking at the monitor. I definitely am excited, the whole experience has changed somehow. I’m also rather overwhelmed and nervous. Josh and I were sitting on the couch taking it all in Friday night and he just started laughing, still not able to believe it. I was having random, paranoid thoughts: “How do you grocery shop with twins? There’s not enough room for two baby carriers! Do you put one in the cart and pile the groceries around him?” Josh reminded me were didn’t have to worry about that yet. Good thing.

My favorite comment by far is from a former co-worker I emailed to tell the news. She responded, “Oh my! Well, you always were efficient.”

Please be praying for the babies health and that I’ll take wise and good care of myself. I haven’t been exercising nearly as much as I wanted to during the week although I’ve been eating well. I do feel overwhelmed when I think about so much that needs to be done on the house (Josh is trying to finish up the outside by Christmas so he can move inside in January) and to prepare the babies’ room for their arrival (it’s full of office stuff and books), all I still need to learn about pregnancy, and all the product research and registering I need to do to figure out what we’ll need. I know the Lord will give us the strength to accomplish what is needed if we take a step at a time each day and trust Him for the outcome.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2006 10:07 pm

    Oh that is so fun. Hey looks like I was right awhile back when you first posted on being pregnant and I made the them/they comment and you asked if I knew something you didn’t. HEE HEE.

    I am so excited for you. Wish I lived close by…I love photographing twin newborns. So much fun.

  2. December 4, 2006 10:08 pm

    Danielle! It is so exciting, and I love your story…I would have reacted just as you did! I laugh at everything. I cannot wait to see your belly grow and to soon meet your little ones!
    TWO!
    I still cannot believe it. So happy for you guys!

    ps- I take it you did not find out the sexes?

  3. Ashleigh permalink
    December 4, 2006 10:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing the story with us! I loved hearing the details.

    Okay, so I don’t have twins, but I do have two 18 months apart. Here’s how I went grocery shopping when Ava was little — Olivia in the cart and Ava in either a front carrier or sling. Worked great! Well, except if I needed to lean down to grab something off a bottom shelf.

    Also, I wouldn’t put too much pressure on yourself to do research about baby stuff. I’d use your blog, ask what other moms like and then look at reviews on those items. Might save you some time.

  4. December 5, 2006 7:24 am

    I have lots of comments and thoughts for you. Laurie and Briana both have my email address. I even have a series of emails that I wrote for a couple of friends about surviving the first year…..email me.

  5. bethyoung permalink
    December 5, 2006 8:21 am

    you will do wonderfully. I have stuff that you can have including a almost brand new white crib and an antique baby size armoire with a drawer on the top. We’ll talk πŸ™‚ We’re praying for you guys for sure.

  6. briana permalink
    December 5, 2006 9:10 am

    Danielle,
    Hope you know by now you are not alone, friend! I was soooo glad to have Laurie and still am glad. She has been such a lifesaver, helping me anticipate the next phase, figure out how to deal w/ the current needs. And, you have Laurie and me now! πŸ™‚

    One thing that I keep thinking to share with you for this phase is PROTEIN. It seemed to be a major need for me when I carried the boys. It’s actually recommended to get 100 g. of Protein a day for carrying twins! That’s a crazy amount of food, esp. if you’re not a meat girl like me. On my best days, I could get 80, maybe 90 g. I used a soy based protein powder throughout my pregnancy and this helped significantly get the protein I needed.

    Snacks of apples and oranges are just not going to cut it with twins! πŸ™‚ At least it didn’t for me. We’ll be praying for ya’ll and are very excited for you. Please call or email anytime!

  7. December 5, 2006 9:10 am

    Oh my goodness Bethany, you were right, how funny! πŸ™‚ When I thought I was having one, I was going to wait to be surprised about what we were having. Now I think we’ll find out. But they couldn’t tell yet, we’ll have to wait until next time. Thanks for your imput Ashleigh, great idea! The stroller is the big thing I need to figure out: what brand, side by side, tandem? Suzanne, I just emailed you . . . and Beth we will have to talk for sure. Thank you all for your support already and generousity, wow!

  8. December 5, 2006 9:49 am

    “Oh my! Well, you always were efficient.”

    cracked me up this morning πŸ™‚ congratulations again!

  9. December 5, 2006 2:11 pm

    Danielle,
    Thank you for your inspiring comment on my blog about Zechariah this morning. This is the first time I’ve tracked down “commentors” on our boundless blog but was really moved by what you wrote; especially the added insight about how Zechariah and Elizabeth lived in the face of seemingly unanswered prayer.

    And the added delight of finding your site and the announcement of your twins. Congratulations! What a thrill it must be to be carrying two. You are blessed among women.

    And on a totally different note, I craved Izze’s pink grapefruit soda during this last pregnancy. I only wish it wasn’t so expensive. =)

    Best,
    Candice Watters

  10. December 5, 2006 3:14 pm

    Danielle, I had a secret thought that, of all people, you would do well with twins back when Laurie or Bri commented to you, “You’re not allowed to be both creative AND organized.” I was laughing this morning thinking about that. You’ll have one of each, most likely. Your “doer” will come out first: your dreamer will stay in there and think up a new creative way to be born, something she thinks no one’s tried before!

  11. briana permalink
    December 5, 2006 4:46 pm

    I don’t have your email address so I’m leaving this offer here.
    If you’re planning to nurse, I have a twin nursing pillow I was just about to sell, I’ll hold onto it for you if you’d like. It’s an Anna Nursing Pillow if you want to look it up online to see what it’s like. πŸ™‚

  12. December 5, 2006 7:24 pm

    I bet you’re going to start paying close attention to moms at the grocery store now! You’re going to do great! And we’re definitely here to help….even if its pushing the cart beside you at the grocery store! πŸ™‚

  13. Fishmama permalink
    December 5, 2006 8:30 pm

    I agree, don’t stress too much about the stuff. Just when you research and figure out the “best” thing, they come out with something new.

    As to strollers, I think it is Bethany who hates her Graco tandem stroller, but I LOVE ours. I bought it back when I had boy#2 and boy#3 19 months apart (2002). The carseats hook on. I have had a great experience with ours.

    You’ll do great. I’ve always wanted twins, but God has decided that I’m not cut out for it. You guys must be! Yeah!

  14. December 5, 2006 9:34 pm

    I feel so out of the “loop” since I have no young ones and the “stuff” I used is probably illegal now. LOL! I can say do not add stress to yourself. You will do fine. God is good and He will provide all that you need. Try not to get sucked into the “We need it all ” trap. Lots of babies are born and sleep in dresser drawers or share a crib for awhile. You are truely blessed. You have a wonderful family and a wonderful church family. Remember we are all here for you!

  15. Chris permalink
    December 5, 2006 10:55 pm

    Oh Wow! What an amazing suprise! I will be praying for you!

  16. December 5, 2006 10:55 pm

    sorry that was my comment above not Chris… I didn’t realize he was signed in πŸ™‚

  17. December 6, 2006 11:21 am

    Thank you all for your wonderful comments! Donna, it’s true, you don’t need half of the baby stuff they sell out there. I’m going to try to keep it to basics. We have such a little house, I need to be efficient with space (there’s not much storage).

  18. December 7, 2006 10:24 am

    I have to agree with Fishmama. We have a Graco tandem stroller also and I love it. We’ve had it over a year and nothing has broken. But one thing to consider is that it’s big. So if you have a regular car, it might take up the entire trunk.

  19. December 7, 2006 2:28 pm

    Congratulations, Danielle! This is so exciting. πŸ™‚ I have always loved twins. How special that God has blessed you with two little ones. I will pray for a safe pregnancy and delivery.

  20. January 9, 2007 4:32 pm

    Wow! What exciting news… I hadn’t checked out your blog in a while, and what a turn of events since last time πŸ™‚ Congrats!

Leave a Reply

