Skip to content

Draw Me Nearer

November 12, 2006

In my church, we’re often reminded of the importance of the Gospel, and how it relates to every part of our lives. Sometimes though, I concentrate so much on the message of the Gospel that I overlook the person of the Gospel. The two are almost inseparable, but there is a subtle difference, and the realization changed my thinking.

Usually, when I’m reminded of how the Gospel impacts my life I’m reminded of my legal standing with Christ. That I’ve been justified by Christ’s work on the cross. That his blood has bought me and made me clean, and is making me clean through sanctification. While not downplaying the importance of those facts, I was reminded a few days ago in my devotions that the Gospel is not just a message to “preach to myself” but a deeply personal relationship:

“It is not that Jesus simply mediates the revelation; he is the revelation. It is not that Jesus simply brings the word; he is himself, so to speak, the Word of God, the climactic Word.” -D. A. Carson, referencing Hebrews 1 in For the Love of God

The Gospel is a person, Christ, who lives in my heart. The Gospel is the living and active Word of God. The Gospel is Life and Light. What a thought that “the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being” lives in my heart! As I go about my day, this reminds me to continue to seek out a personal relationship with Christ. To pray to him more. To find my comfort in him. To read scripture as if it was written just to me. To trust him no matter what storms may come in this life, knowing he’ll be there with me through them, even when I’m not rescued from them, because he’s already walked me through so much.

“I am Thine, O Lord, I have heard Thy voice,
And it told Thy love to me;
But I long to rise in the arms of faith
And be closer drawn to Thee.

Draw me nearer, 
to the cross where Thou hast died.
Draw me nearer, to Thy precious, bleeding side.”

-Fanny Crosby

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2006 10:08 am

    great thoughts, Danielle! it’s a subtle distinction but an important reminder for me. thanks for sharing.

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    November 13, 2006 10:53 am

    Great reminder! Thanks, Danielle.

  3. November 13, 2006 2:21 pm

    Great Reminder!

    Love the DA Carson quote. I went to Trinity where he teaches at the Seminary. I never had him of course but he was still near! I thought it was cool to have him and Wayne Grudem nearby. 🙂

  4. November 13, 2006 4:26 pm

    Great reminder. That has been something of a focus for me these last couple of months, especially in terms of my prayer life. I have to say through my trials this last year my prayer life has taken on a whole new meaning and made my relationship with God so much better. I am reminded that if I didn’t talk with my husband on a daily basis there wouldn’t be much of a relationship there so why do I think I can not talk to God and yet still have a great relationship with him. He is teaching me about prayer and running to him when things seem impossible and even when things are all going great…to commune with Him throughout the day.

  5. November 15, 2006 2:29 pm

    It’s NOT a great reminder.

    I just said that to be different. 🙂

    Having heard so many sermons on the Gospel, I was very weary of the entire subject. Then I read the four Gospels myself, and discovered not a Method Of Salvation, but a Person — and a very intriguing, often baffling Person He is.

    The disciples, at one point, asked “What is the way to be saved?” and Jesus replied, “I am the Way…” I’d never noticed that verse in context before. It inspires renewed enthusiasm when I remember (as you expressed) that it isn’t a “way” I’m following, but a Person.

    — SJ

  6. November 15, 2006 3:04 pm

    Good point, Sara. When you grow up in the church it’s so easy to take things for granted. That story about Christ’s answer to the disciples is so important to remember. Like you say, it’s not about a “method of salvation.”

Leave a Reply

