Skip to content

Rituals

October 30, 2006

Rituals.

They’re part of our lives whether we conciously think of them or not. A common ritual is probably just something we take for granted as part of our established daily routine.

A blog I check in on every once in a while, Walk Slowly, Live Wildly, had a good post on rituals and she mentioned some of her favorites. That got me thinking about my favorite rituals. Morning coffee, devotional time with the Lord, dinner with Josh, evening tea (especially “Constant Comment”), reading in bed, are some favorites. I think back to earlier rituals, like my mom reading out loud to us kids after lunch, which will always be a favorite and one I hope to recreate with my kids. Holidays bring their own special rituals from baking to special movie watching to Christmas eve services. Some rituals come and go, some stay with us forever. Rituals create memories and make our lives unique to us.

What are your favorite rituals?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2006 1:08 pm

    I am definitely looking forward to the holiday and wintertime rituals. Even the tiniest of rituals…like putting on mittens before going outside…are so wonderful to me!

  2. briana permalink
    October 30, 2006 1:44 pm

    I read to the boys before they go down for their afternoon nap and we have an entire bedtime routine that when any variation is introduced, the boys (usually Tucker) have a near fit.
    Lawrence also prays before he and I go to sleep every night. The nights he happens to dose off before me without praying, I poke him awake to make him pray…so, I see where my son gets his near obsession with routines.
    With kids, particularly toddlers, rituals become absolutely necessary. And, for some adults, they’re absolutely necessary, too. πŸ™‚

  3. Kate permalink
    October 30, 2006 1:56 pm

    You’ve listed some of my favorites too…like evening tea (or sometimes cocoa or coffee), reading in bed, praying with my husband. And like Briana, I read to Will before he goes down for nearly every nap…that’s 4 times a day if you count bedtime! I guess I picked that up from my mom. But, I am so looking forward to this winter when some of my most favorite rituals occur. Like sleeping by the Christmas tree one night in December (I love the lights!), driving through Hamden to look at all the crazy decorations, annual holiday parties, and eating birthday cake on Christmas day!

  4. October 30, 2006 2:11 pm

    I think my favorite “ritual” is Christmas Eve. We have a spaghetti dinner (my immediate family) and then watch a movie. Before going to the 11pm service, we drive around and look at Christmas lights. After church, we have Christmas cookies and then go to bed. We’ve been doing that since I was little.

    I have many other “rituals” which are also classified as obsessive compulsive tendencies! πŸ™‚

  5. October 30, 2006 2:30 pm

    One of my favorite rituals — which I don’t get to do that often anymore — is go shopping and out to eat with my mom and sisters when we’re all together. I grew up doing this on Saturday afternoons and miss it now that we don’t live close. I’m looking forward to doing this with my own girls. Olivia already loves shopping. She calls it “fun.” πŸ™‚

  6. Zoanna permalink
    October 30, 2006 11:12 pm

    My favorite daily ritual is curling up with Bible and hazelnut flavored Coffee Mate in my coffee and reading for an hour and sometimes singing to the Lord. Another is napping with Joel after reading books, snuggling, and scratching backs. We usually eat out after church, then we have lots of R&R. My favorite ritual around a holiday is getting heart shaped box of chocolate and a very touching card from my daddy on Valentine’s Day. I also enjoy the rituals of hearing the shower run while i stay in bed ten more minutes n the morning and then nearly inhaling my honey when he emerges for work., I also like the end of workday kiss and the way all the kids pile up on our bed at night to talk and rub each other’s feet and backs.

  7. October 31, 2006 2:39 am

    My extended family all going for a walk on the beach on Thanksgiving Day: all 40+ of us. And throwing a New Year’s Eve party at my aunt and uncles for all the cousins (20+ of us) and shooting off firecrackers at midnight and making the adults mad, hahaha.

  8. October 31, 2006 5:13 pm

    I have established “friends” breakfasts. For more than two years, I met my friend Heidi on Wednesday mornings at Panera Bread. Then I added a second friend on Tuesday mornings. These breakfasts are special because the provide a weekly opportunity to spend time with friends I wouldn’t see otherwise.

  9. Amanda Joy permalink
    November 1, 2006 12:12 pm

    My favorite ritual is one that belongs to my mother and I (www.joyofchrist.blogspot.com). When I go home to PA to visit, I attempt to get home on Friday night before 9 o’clock so that we can watch What Not To Wear. It’s truly a bonding time for us.

Leave a Reply

