Skip to content

Immersed in Courbet

October 13, 2006

Now that the Walters is FREE, there’s no more excuses to not see Baltimore’s finest art collection.

And while you’re there, check out Courbet and the Modern Landscape. I wish I could show you all installation shots, but with this show, that is prohibited. With Courbet we’ve produced a experimental installation that is rather controversial. People love it or hate it. We attempted to create an immersive environment with the installation of landscapes. Each room is seasonal and the paint is light in color, reflecting the season. Light shifts suggesting different times of day and ambient music (composed by Peabody Conservatory students) softly filters into the gallery spaces, unobtrusively reflecting the mood of the paintings. We knew from the beginning it could be a disaster or a success. The key was being subtle.

Today, our New York Times review was excellent. I was holding my breath for this one. The critic is a Courbet purist and who knew what she’d think. Make sure you click the slide show on the left of the New York Times review for more images in the show to get a fuller idea of the paintings that are on display. Then come for a visit if you can!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2006 4:08 pm

    I wish I could come! I like the exibit! One of these days ( or years) I will have to come out there again. I love the city, plus then I could meet you and check out Walters…lots of great reasons!

  2. October 13, 2006 8:29 pm

    Wish we could come see it too!

  3. October 14, 2006 12:16 pm

    Oh that looks fun. I love going to museums.

    So Danielle WHEN you come visit me I will have to take you to the Getty museums and the Huntington Library. 😉

  4. October 15, 2006 5:19 pm

    Bethany, I’d love to visit the Getty! I know two former Walters folks that work there now. BTW, “Courbet and the Modern Landscape” is a Getty originated show. although the Getty’s installation was different from ours, it’s the same paintings. It’s a three venue tour and went from the Getty to Houston, then Baltimore.

Trackbacks

  1. Courbet Video « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

