Skip to content

Scenes of Maine

September 12, 2006

CottageLast week Josh and I had a wonderfully relaxing vacation in Maine. I don’t have my pictures back yet, so I’m going to share the two watercolors I did while there (the delicate colors don’t all show up too well, but you get the idea).

We stayed at a lovely cottage on Hancock Point. As you can see from the painting, it was totally cute. It was cozy and had a wood stove to warm up the chilly nights. We ended up having plenty of time to relax, sleep, and read.

We were blessed with wonderful weather. The mornings and evenings were cool, and the afternoons generally warm and sunny.

Except for the fact that my camera started having problems and now has to go get repaired, the week was perfect. The most interesting thing was the man who owns the cottage we rented is actually from our town!

Over the next week, I’ll be sharing pictures and highlights from our trip.

Water

13 Comments leave one →
  1. briana permalink
    September 12, 2006 12:31 pm

    Is there nothing you can’t do?! You are amazingly talented, my friend! Glad you had a nice time away w/ your hubby.

  2. September 12, 2006 12:37 pm

    ummm….HOLY MOLEY! Danielle, I am so impressed…my watercolor attemps looked like first grade art!!! I love them! You are really good!
    I am so glad you guys had such a wonderful…much needed I am sure trip away from it all. I cannot wait to see your pictures!

  3. bethyoung permalink
    September 12, 2006 1:29 pm

    wow, those pictures are really amazing. They look like the renderings I receive from seasoned Architects. You’re a pro! I’m glad you had a nice time, can’t wait to see the pics!

  4. September 12, 2006 3:46 pm

    What beautiful paintings — the first one just makes me feel warm and cozy, like I want to just walk right into it! God has truly gifted you!

    We vacationed in Maine several years ago, and it was so beautiful. Glad you guys had a good time!

  5. September 12, 2006 4:18 pm

    Wow these are beautiful. I love to paint…however I stink at watercolors. I took a class with my mom once and it was so funny. I kept adding too much paint or too much water and it would turn into this big mess. I do much better at acrylics and oils. I can keep layering and fixing things. HEE HEE. All that to say these are really beautiful and YES you are very talented.

  6. Zoanna permalink
    September 12, 2006 4:36 pm

    Glad you had a restful vacation. Your artwork is really good. Painting someone else’s cottage on vacation and then getting to bring it home. What a deal!

  7. Sarah permalink
    September 12, 2006 4:56 pm

    Wow, that’s some major talent! Super impressive. Glad you had a great vacation.

  8. September 12, 2006 6:27 pm

    I would like to chime in with all of you to say that my wife is very talented and she would be the last to think so herself. She has an abundance of artistic gifts and I’m so proud of her work. These little “projects” are so fun for her to do and she can whip out stuff like this in no time at all. What amazes me is that she doesn’t make any mistakes!

    We had great fun on our vacation and one of the things I enjoyed most was the times we spent reading together. Danielle has this habit of reading out loud to me when she gets to something interesting or funny in her books, and her most recent was very funny! I’ll let her fill you in with the details some time soon…

  9. September 13, 2006 7:35 am

    Wow! These are so beautiful. I really could see the beauty of the cottage through your eyes. Thanks for that. So glad you had a great time. Maine is so beautiful. We have not been there since Nick, who is 25 was a baby. But I remember how lovely it was then. Thanks for sharing your talent.

  10. September 13, 2006 8:36 am

    what beautiful watercolors! Did you update your template? It looks totally fab!

  11. September 13, 2006 9:08 am

    Thank you all for you kind words. Before you’re too impressed, please remember, I did go to school for this (Graphic design and English), so I’ve spent lots of time practicing! Very little is talent! There are so many who are way better than I with little effort!

  12. Ashleigh permalink
    September 13, 2006 9:45 am

    Danielle, your paintings make the location look so inviting! Makes me want to escape to a cozy cottage and just relax! 🙂

  13. September 13, 2006 11:30 am

    oh please! Josh is right, you are SO talented…even if you practice a lot it does not mean you will be as good as you are. I want to hear the funny story too…Tell Josh to write a post about it!

Leave a Reply

