Skip to content

More Random Fashion Tips . . .

August 3, 2006

Know Your Colors
Just because yellow is your favorite color, doesn’t mean it’ll look the best on you. Know what colors look good on you with your skin tone, hair, etc. Usually one of those make-up consulting places will help you for this for free (although they hope you’ll buy some of their products).

Jewelry
I’m really not a jewelry girl. I’ve always told Josh if he ever bought me expensive jewelry, I’d be mad at him. My engagement and wedding ring are enough! Although I never used to wear jewelry, I’ve gotten more into it in recent years. Mainly because I love the cheap stuff you can buy at Target or New York & Company (a favorite place to get good deals). Big clunky, colorful jewelry can really make an outfit. Look for stuff you might not usually wear and try something different. Long rope-like necklaces are in right now and can look really good with a plain shirt.

Stock-up on Basics
Plain t-shirts, tanks, button-up shirts, and turtlenecks are great because you can reinvent them. Casual to dressy, you can wear them with jeans and boots or skirts and heals. You can go monochromatic with a real contrasting piece of jewelry. The possibilities are endless, so start with something basic and then brainstorm with how to make it more interesting.
Ignore What’s In Style
Okay, not completely, but sometimes what’s in style just gets old quick. If it’s in style, everyone starts copying the same look. That’s not very interesting. So don’t feel like you have to be up on the latest thing. Or sometimes, what’s in style just doesn’t look good on you. For instance, the cropped pant look is really, really hard to pull off. It does the opposite of giving you a clean line and instead hits your leg in odd places. If it doesn’t look good on you, don’t bother.

So, I hope that’s been helpful (what did you think, Laurie)! If I think of other ideas, I’ll post them, but for now, I think I’m depleted of ideas!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2006 4:36 pm

    Hey girlie, you did a great job! Very helpful. I love trends, but I agree with you that not all of them are flattering or worth the money. I buy my trendy stuff super cheap (at Ross)…but I want to learn how to do the classic thing with the flare that you do it with. 🙂

  2. Beth permalink
    August 3, 2006 5:39 pm

    Danielle, I think these posts have been great. That’s me, I buy pretty plain items and then go crazy with my accessories. I think I have at LEAST 10-15 plain white shirts…whether they are t’s, tanks, long sleeve or short sleeve, I have a ton of them. They always look good and you can wear them with just about everything.

    There’s one other tip that was given to me that was priceless. I have a large upper body of and sort of broad shoulders and I came across a post about fashion once concerning shirts for the upper body. The best shirts for my frame/body type are 3/4 length boat neck shirts. I think I have like 5 for the Fall and Spring. I wear them all the time and they really never go out of style. The only thing that stinks is that I have to wear tanks under the shirts and over my bra straps because of the slight neck/shoulder area showing. It’s very slimming and takes away from the broad shoulders.

    Anyway, thanks a ton, you’re the best 🙂

  3. August 4, 2006 10:48 am

    I think you can find your colors if you pay attention to what you are wearing when people comment about it looking good on you. That is what I try to do.

    I am so not a jewlery person…to many years of sports and they were to hard to keep up with. I do like Diamonds though…big ones. HA HA. Simple but big. HA HA. And of course my Planet Jill stuff. But they are pretty simple.

    Thanks for all the tips I get in such a rut with T-shirts, Jeans and flip flops. I need a personal shopper.

  4. August 4, 2006 5:15 pm

    Once again…good tips! I am so not a jewelry girl either! But like Bethany…I am down with big diamonds 🙂 I am pretty simple but having a few fabulous itmes like a great jacket or sweater that is still simple and stylish but will not be out of style next year…a classic are things I like to own!

Leave a Reply

