Skip to content

Easy Summer Fashion: Sarongs

July 31, 2006

Today I’m beginning this week’s series on “Easy Summer Fashion.” The topic today is saraongs. Sarongs are wrap skirts that are original to Southeast Asia. You can read Wikipedia’s definition here. Sarongs are pretty and look great no matter what your shape, and are easy to make.

Sarong 2My sarong pictured here was made from a strip of fabric that measured 55 inches wide x 95 inches in length. It’s actually a little long, so it could have been “shorter” than 55 inches. First find fabric you like and make sure you have enough to wrap around your body. I start on my left hip and hold a corner of the fabric there which I’ll later use to secure as a knot. Then, from that point, I wrap the fabric around me twice, meeting back at the left hip, where I knot it.

 

 

Sarong 1The knot is secure, and since the fabric is wrapped around you twice, you don’t have to worry about anything flapping open. I also wear a slip. The skirt is easy to make because you only have to narrowly fold over the cut side of the fabric to make a nice seam, so it won’t unravel. I left the raw edges as they were.

I hope this makes sense! If you make any sarongs, make sure you post them so we can check them out!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    July 31, 2006 3:47 pm

    wow, really pretty and it seems so easy to make!

  2. July 31, 2006 5:41 pm

    Cute. Seems easy to make too. Might have to try this.

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 31, 2006 5:54 pm

    I love it. I think I’ll buy a tablecloth in fabric I like and then wrap it around myself. :_) Nice job.

  4. July 31, 2006 5:59 pm

    Very Cute! And Easy!

  5. Zoanna permalink
    July 31, 2006 4:09 pm

    That “Sarah” is actually Zoanna. Sarah’s name just happened to be there and I didn’t notice.

  6. The Real Sarah permalink
    July 31, 2006 4:10 pm

    Pretty pretty, I love it.

  7. Laurie permalink
    July 31, 2006 5:39 pm

    Love it! Thanks for doing this fashion series! Thanks also for leading me here to Word Press

  8. July 31, 2006 5:43 pm

    I will link to you tomorrow.

  9. Suzanne permalink
    August 1, 2006 8:07 am

    Very cute….I wonder about those of us with a little “more” around the hips. I think it might make me look hippy. 😉

  10. Zoanna permalink
    August 1, 2006 9:24 am

    All right, can you please explain why comments from my computer didn’t post in order? I wrote the comment about the tablecloth BEFORE Sarah (the REAL Sarah, as she calls herself here). But when you read the comments, hers shows up first which doesn’t make sense if you haven’t read mine.

  11. August 1, 2006 11:08 am

    Zoanna, I think it has to do with the time. Ashleigh had the same issue. I just changed the time setting yesterday so it would refect Eastern Standard Time. That might have done it!

  12. Jade permalink
    April 3, 2009 11:22 pm

    My best friend is Cambodian and she just back from Khmer and got me one. I love it. I wear it around the house and to sleep but never when going out because they tend to fall off easily… Yikes.

Leave a Reply

