Skip to content

Favorite Thing: Grilling

July 26, 2006

Since I brought up grilling yesterday, I decided to devote a “favorite” post to that topic. I love grilling, and with no air conditioning, any reason not to turn on the oven sounds like a good one to me. This year, Josh and I have tried become more adventurous in our grilling.

Besides grilling peaches, this week we also tried grilling asparagus. We wrapped asparagus in tin foil and drizzled some olive oil over it, and sprinkled it with salt and pepper. I’m not a huge fan of asparagus, especially when it gets “mushy,” but grilling did it’s magic, and the asparagus was the best I’ve ever had. I have my intern, Laura, to thank for this idea.

I’ve also discovered a fabulous Honey-and-Lemon Marinade by Rachael Ray that can be used on chicken, salmon, or pork. I used it on salmon and it was scrumptious! Click the link above for the recipe.

So, does anyone have other good tips/ideas for grilling?

Okay, I think I better move onto a non-food topic tomorrow!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2006 11:11 am

    Oh, I’ll have to check out that marinade recipe. So far every recipe I’ve tried from Rachel Ray I’ve liked.

    We like to grill teriyaka chicken and then cut it up and put it in a salad. There’s something really yummy about the warm, grilled chicken in the otherwise cold salad. I’m getting hungry just writing about it … 🙂

    I had a friend who used to grill pizza — we have yet to try that.

  2. July 26, 2006 12:04 pm

    wait. We need to talk about this “no air conditioning” thing before moving forward.

    I’m just glad that you’re alive to post!

    Just kidding. But really, you must be a trooper. You’re a tough chic!

  3. July 26, 2006 12:24 pm

    We don’t have air conditioning either. So I understand you reluctance Danielle to turn the stove on!

  4. July 26, 2006 12:34 pm

    I’d love to hear more about grilling pizza, has anyone tried that?

    Yeah, our house is old. No AC. I’ve actually never lived in AC, only one year in our apt. when Josh and I first got married. But I work most days so I only am home nights AND we did get a little window unit last week, lent to us by Josh’s dad, which cools our bedroom down. We just turn it on at night. Not too bad!

  5. July 26, 2006 2:04 pm

    no, that’s not too bad. Those window units are really great, I love them. I’m sorry for being so shocked, but I really was mostly kidding 🙂

  6. July 26, 2006 2:45 pm

    We love shrimp and bacon kabobs with skewered veggies. The meat has been marinaded in honey-dijon-and-salad oil for at least an hour. Just before grilling, I drizzle the marinade over cut- up peppers, onions, and sliced mushrooms and whole grape tomatoes. When feeling rich, we put chicken and steak on the stick, too. Very time-consuming so we have these maybe twice a year. I didn’t realize you had no AC. Do you have a window unit in the bedroom at least?

  7. July 26, 2006 2:46 pm

    Woops. I posted a comment before reading the ones above. I see you have a window unit. Good thing.

  8. July 26, 2006 3:26 pm

    Oh yeah Beth, I knew you were mostly kidding 🙂

Leave a Reply

