Skip to content

Favorite Thing: Ice Cream

July 25, 2006

So who doesn’t love the taste of deliciously cold and creamy ice cream on a hot summer day? Actually, I love ice cream all the time, so I had to include ice cream as a favorite thing.

My favorite brand of ice cream will always be Breyers . That’s not to say I don’t enjoy Edy’s or Starbucks now and again, but Breyers is the go-to ice cream in our house. I also like the fact that it doesn’t have a lot of additives.

In the summer, loading down ice cream with fresh fruit is my favorite way to eat ice cream. Fresh strawberries or peaches on Breyers vanilla is just heavenly. Last night, Josh and I grilled peaches in tin foil. This was the first time trying to grill fruit, and it’s is now my new favorite way to eat peaches on ice cream. Here’s what you do:

Cut a ripe peach in half and take out the pit
Put a pat of butter in the little “well” left by the pit
Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon
Wrap loosely in foil and grill until warm and soft
Serve on ice cream

This simple way of preparing the peaches was incredible! Josh doesn’t even like peaches and he loved it!

For you local folks, I also recommend Broom’s Bloom Dairy. They make their own ice cream and although it’s a little expensive, it’s yummy and creamy and they give you big servings. Josh and I enjoyed going to their shop; you can eat inside or sit on the “porch” and look out over the corn fields. There’s also picnic tables and lots of room for kids to run around. The place was packed when we went. I only heard of the place when we went to our local market, but considering all the people that were there, it must be a Harford County favorite!

What’s your favorite ice cream brand, flavor, or way to eat ice cream?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2006 10:05 am

    I’m a chocolate lover! This definitely influences what ice creams are my favorites.

    Two of my favorites are Bryer’s Mud Pie and Dove’s Dark Chocolate ice cream bars. Yummy!

  2. July 25, 2006 11:23 am

    Breyer’s vanilla with just enough milk on it to make ice crystals..yummy. Second choice, butter pecan, also with milk.

  3. July 25, 2006 12:38 pm

    I actually do not love ice cream that often…except when pregnant!

    I love Breyers too!! So for my favorite brand that would have to be it. It is what my Grandma and Mom always bought…usually for special treats because we otherwise did not have it.

    As for right now though I am in LOVE with Phish Food by Ben and Jerry’s! I have not finished a pint in a sitting I am happy to say but I have been tempted!

    My favorite way to eat ice cream…in a cone, better yet a waffle cone!

  4. July 25, 2006 12:42 pm

    My favorite ice cream is Ben and Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk. Yummers. Although we only have it every once in awhile. I try not to buy ice cream much or I will eat it. HEE HEE and it hurts my stomach. I also really like Trader Joe’s Vanilla Gelato it is very light.

  5. July 25, 2006 1:52 pm

    Broom’s Bloom can’t be beat. Our family’s Sunday evening tradition in the summer is to head over there around 6:30,before the huge crowd shows up and while there are still great flavors. I’ve loved every single one I’ve tried there.
    I don’t think they’re pricey at all; what they call Very Small is most places single scoop. A Small is the equivalent of two whopping scoops from, say, Baskin Robbins. My grandma owned a Baskins store when I was a girl; my fave is their Jamocha Almond Fudge. Second fave is Ben & Jerry’s Black Raspberry Avalanche. NYFudge Chunk ranks close for third.

  6. July 25, 2006 2:22 pm

    I think you’ll be getting lots of comments about this one, Danielle. Everybody LOVES icecream, don’t they?! 🙂

    I worked in an icecream shop, run by a local dairy farm for more than 6 years and NEVER got sick of eating it. The place is called Way-Har Farms, and if they were a bit more sophisticated, I’d provide a link. Nearly every one of my sibs has worked or currently works there. My favorite flavor there is Chocolate Almond Cluster: a choc. base with choc. covered almonds throughout.

    Locally, we like Broom’s Bloom (it reminds me a lot of Way-Har), and Moxley’s. Moxley’s is way expensive though. But, my favorite flavor there is a combination of cinnamon and coconut…the best!! I’m also a big fan of soft serve twist w/ chocolate sprinkles–always in just a plain old cake cone.

  7. July 25, 2006 4:18 pm

    Hmm, Ashleigh, I’ll have to try the Mud Pie flavor! And Briana, the Moxley cinnamon and coconut ice cream sounds good to me!

  8. July 25, 2006 7:20 pm

    From my college days, I have a soft spot for Moxley’s – in particular, “Grasshoppa”, which is a heavenly combination of chocolate mint ice cream with crushed Andes mints in it. We justify it these days by walking there (there’s one about a mile or so from our house).

    On the lighter side, I’m a big fan of the Edy’s grand light. You’d never know you weren’t eating the high test stuff.

  9. July 25, 2006 9:48 pm

    Edy’s Grand Light is delicious. I love the chocalate chip!

    My absolute favorite ice cream treat would have to be from Cold Stone Creamery and I love the Knights in White Chocolate. It is French Vanilla Ice Cream with White Chocolate Chunks, whipped cream, Caramel and something else that makes it delicious!!!

  10. July 25, 2006 10:34 pm

    Ever since going to Broom’s Bloom when they first opened, I rarely eat ice cream except when we get it from there. It’s reasonably priced considering they give you a LOT of the best ice cream I’ve ever had. Although lactose intolerant, the ice cream from Brooms’s Bloom is definitely worth getting sick over. 🙂

  11. July 26, 2006 9:59 am

    Wow, thanks ladies for all the ice cream flavors I now have to try!

  12. July 26, 2006 12:10 pm

    Now, it just depends….for vanilla, it needs to be Breyers with the vanilla bean. But, I don’t like the big chunks of chocolate that they use in their chip ice creams – it gets stuck in my teeth. So, chips have to be Edy’s (or Dreyers as it was West of the Rockies). I have never heard of those shops you mentioned, but here in KC, the local favs are Sheridans and Culvers – both make frozen custard. Super yummy. There is an ice cream personality test you can take at http://www.mda.state.mi.us/kids/countyfair/games/icecream/icecream.asp

    We did it at playday a few weeks ago and all the ladies laughed at some of the “accuracies” it revealed about our personalities.

  13. July 26, 2006 12:11 pm

    http://www.mda.state.mi.us/kids/countyfair/games/icecream/icecream.asp

    The address didn’t seem to show up in my last comment. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

