Skip to content

Favorite Thing: Cleaner

July 24, 2006

This week I’ll be posting “a few of my favorite things.” The categories are limitless, but today the category is cleaners. My favorite cleaner is OxiClean. Since my bedspread and slipcover for my sofa are both off-white, they quickly pick up dirt. Since we have a cat and her favorite places are both the bed and the sofa (of course!), they also get hairy. OxiClean makes them look like new! Oxiclean usually gets ink, grass, blood or any other stain out. I add it to my white loads and they come out cleaner and whiter than if I didn’t add it to my wash. You can also use it to spot clean and soak items. I soaked my window blinds in OxiClean in the bathtub when we first moved into the house. I used it to clean my grass stained white fabric covered wedding shoes. It works wonders! What’s your favorite cleaning product?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2006 9:29 am

    I’m so glad that you posted this. I love telling people my favorite products. I actually thought of doing this very same thing sometime on my blog. You beat me to it 🙂

    My answer is twofold: Windex and Pine-sol. I truly believe that you can clean your WHOLE home with Windex and Pine-sol. I am obsessed with both of them.

  2. July 24, 2006 11:53 am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Clorox cleaning wipes! I use them everywhere…especially in Maxwells room and the kitchen! I could not live without them! I tend to buy the Target Brand ones though! 🙂 Love Target!
    I also have this cleaning stuff for use in bathrooms and kitchens. It is called Spirit cleaner and we used it at Starbucks when I worked there and we once got a huge shippmnet of them and so everybody got a bottle to take home! I love the stuff but my bottle is running low! 😦

  3. July 24, 2006 12:15 pm

    I thought about doing a Favorite Things Friday. I love hearing peoples favorite products. And since Oprah is not going to do it anymore…and hers were to expensive anyway. HEE HEE

    I do love buying everything white…sheets, towels, tablecloths. With two dirty little boys bleach works wonders.

    The other cleaning products I love are Shaklee Basic H…you can do everything with that cleaner…windows, counters, fertilize yard, wash car, wash your kids etc etc. Love that stuff and you only need a little so it lasts long and is earth friendly (makes up for all my bleaching HA HA) I also love METHOD cleaning products especially the flushable wipes. They smell so nice and I can do a quick wipe on the bathroom everymorning and flush it down the pot.

  4. July 24, 2006 2:34 pm

    Definitely Mr. Clean Magic Eraser!

    Oh — I had someone else tell me how much they loved METHOD products. I may have to try those. They sell them at Target, right?

  5. July 24, 2006 4:24 pm

    How could I forget the Eraser!!!!! I use that thing almost Daily. Yes Ashleigh you can get Method products at Target. They are a little more than other kinds but again environmentally friendly and also safe for kids etc. Plus they smell heavenly…not like yucky chemicals.

  6. July 24, 2006 6:40 pm

    Thanks, everyone who posted! I love those cleaning wipes too. I use them to wipe up the bathroom sink real quickly.

    Bethany, I’ve never heard of Shaklee Basic H, where do you get it? I’ve never used the METHOD brand but have seen them at Target and their scents have tempted me to smell them. I didn’t realize they were both kid and environmentally safe!

    Nor have I used Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. What exactly do you use it for? I bet with kids, it’s great!

  7. July 24, 2006 8:01 pm

    Ya’ll are gonna make a Method-ist out of me before this is all said and done:).

    I’ve heard rave reviews about the Eraser.

    Favorites of mine: Simple Green (all-purpose cleaner.) Smells of mint and just one spritz in the bathroom sink makes the whole bathroom smell clean. (Great trickeroo.) I’m also a sucker for Clorox wipes in the bathroom, and Bon Ami for scrubbing the tub because I would otherwise get bleach on myself.

  8. July 25, 2006 6:17 am

    I’m on the Mr. Clean magic eraser bandwagon…that thing is amazing. I’ve found very few surfaces in my house that it doesn’t work well on (I think it cautions against anything that’s real wood) but it’s a miracle in the bathroom. Great on stubborn spots too. I learned my lesson though – they work much better if you wet them first!

    I’ve also been told not to waste your money on the “extra strength” variety, that there is very little difference, but I have not tried myself.

  9. July 25, 2006 8:09 am

    I used the Mr. C eraser on the goop in the car’s cup holders last week. (Four boys = lots of goop.) It got everything out in a matter of seconds! It is fantastic!

  10. July 25, 2006 8:44 am

    Okay, you’ve all sold me! I’m getting a Mr. Clean magic eraser the next time I go to the store!

Leave a Reply

