Skip to content

A Question About Children’s Books

July 1, 2006

I’m doing some research and wonder if my blog-readers could help. I’m trying to discover if there are many children’s illustrated biographies out there about Christians. I’m specifically interested in those about women, but at this point, those about men are fine to suggest too. I’m thinking about books for kids in the age range of 6-8 years old. I’m not talking about little paperback chapter books here (I know there are a lot of those in the Christian market) but books that are simpler and written for younger readers or to read to kids. There are lots of books like this written about historical characters, just not many (to my knowledge) written from a Christian perspective about “heroes” of the faith. Can anyone suggest some titles?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2006 2:34 pm

    My kids are under that age range. I have seen some very basic board books for younger kids I think one line is called heros of the bible. I will have to go find my other one. I have not seen much in the 6-8 range, but then again I don’t have kids these ages.

  2. July 1, 2006 10:56 pm

    My kids are too young too. Maybe I’ll ask my mom. My youngest sister is 14, so it hasn’t been that long since she was in her age range. May take me a couple weeks to get info from her, but I’ll see if she knows anything …

  3. July 2, 2006 4:28 pm

    Since my kids aren’t in that range now, i don’t know the curennt market. I’d suggest asking Karen Coleman. She is both an avid reader and has a child in that age bracket.

  4. July 2, 2006 7:21 pm

    My kids are that age range, but we’ve only done the chapter books and the anthologies. There’s a series of books; one is called Ten Boys Who Made a Difference. It’s about 10 heroes of the faith, tells snippets from their childhoods and then from when they were adults…a few pages on each person.

    But, I have not ever seen picture books of this nature. I think that is what you mean when you say “illustrated children’s book”? There are a few historical picture books that are about christians…like we just read “A Picture Book of Florence Nightingale”. But, I think they chose to write about her because she was historically significant, not because she loved the Lord. Therefore, while her faith was mentioned often it wasn’t the focus of the book

  5. July 2, 2006 8:42 pm

    Thanks for attempting to help, guys. If you click my second link in the post, you’ll see an example of a book like I’m talking about written about Zora Hurston (by my former college professor, Dr. Miller!). This book is for ages 4 and up and is just like the books that I’m looking for . . . only about Christians! I’ve done a lot of searches online and haven’t found much. Therefore, I was just wondering if anyone out there in real life knew of any such books. Thanks Fishmama, for that one title. I’ll look into it!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    July 24, 2006 9:17 am

    You might try searching for books by Catherine MacKenzie. She has a “Little Lights” series that would be appropriate for age 4-8. I think she has titles for Hudson Taylor, George Muller, Amy Carmichael, and Corrie ten Boom. Search Amazon using “Catherine Mackenzie Little Lights” and you should find them. She’s also written some chapter book biographies. I think her publisher is Christian Focus.–>

Leave a Reply

