Skip to content

Sausage and Cheese Breakfast Muffins

June 25, 2006

Josh and I were doing the South Beach diet for a while and really like the recipes. I highly recommend the diet as it’s more of a way of life than a diet. The cookbooks are great too. I checked them all out at the library and have gotten some great healthy recipes from them. One of my favorite “on the go” breakfast recipes was the Sausage and cheese Breakfast Cups. These are great for kids too.

4 oz. sausage
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
1/4 onion, chopped
5 large eggs
1 can (12 oz. sliced) mushrooms, drained
1/2 cup (2 oz.) shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven to 350. Coat a 6 cup nonstick muffin pan with cooking spray or line with paper baking cups (this works better, I think).

In a medium nonstick skillet over medium-high heat, cook the sausage, pepper, and onion for 5 minutes, or until sausage is cooked. Spoon mixture into a bowl and cool slightly. Stir in the eggs, cheese, and mushrooms. Evenly divide the mixture among the prepared muffin cups.

Bake for 20 minutes or until the eggs is set.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2006 11:44 am

    yummy…minus the mushrooms…hate mushrooms, what can I say. Thanks for the recipe though, I am going to try it this week!

  2. June 26, 2006 4:50 pm

    Sounds delicious, mushrooms and all! Except for the reduced-fat ingredient, it hardly looks like a diet recipe. Mmmm!

  3. June 26, 2006 11:23 pm

    I may have to give this a try. Unlike Anne, I LOVE mushrooms. However, I’m not crazy about eggs … I have to be in a certain mood to eat them.

  4. June 27, 2006 2:27 pm

    oh for pete’s sake, I’m hungry!

  5. June 27, 2006 6:59 pm

    Oh sounds good

Leave a Reply

