Skip to content

Photo Fridays

June 9, 2006


In an effort to encourage the quantity and quality of my photography, I’m going to try to post a photo on “Photo Fridays” (cheeeesy, yes, I know). I may not capture the essence children like Bethany or the detail of still lifes like Cupcakes on a Monday, but I hope this will be one step in that direction. So please, feel free to critique!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2006 10:13 pm

    No, cheesy would be “Foto Fridays.” Or even worse, “Photo Phridays.”

    — SJ

  2. June 8, 2006 10:56 pm

    Love the picture!

  3. June 9, 2006 1:30 am

    I love it! I always wanted a room in my house with books all around the walls with a moving ladder! Not at all cheesy…I like it!

  4. June 9, 2006 11:24 am

    I agree with everyone above. I love this picture. Great geometry… you’ve got the vertical ladder, the horizontal bookshelves, the squares of the panes and window, and a semicircle on the floor (though on my old screen it’s a bit dark at the bottom of the ladder). Black and white really sets of the contrasts. Was this digital or film?

  5. June 9, 2006 11:26 am

    Oh, yeh, and I like the way the floorboards “fan out” around the feet of the ladder. Good eye, Danielle!

  6. June 9, 2006 12:08 pm

    I took that with film (no digital yet, Zoanna, holding out for the D70. Congrads on getting the D50, by the way!). I wish it had a little more contrast, but maybe I can play with that in Photoshop.

    I took that picture at my neighbor’s house. He has a “showroom” for his pulley fan business. You can check out his business here:
    http://www.woolenmillfans.com

    The fans are beautiful and unique, worth taking a look.

  7. June 9, 2006 7:22 pm

    Very cool. I like the contrast of the steps and the window. You could def. boost in photoshop if you wanted too but it looks fine right now. How fun to do a Photo Friday. I think that is great idea.

    And PS thanks for the sweet compliment.

  8. June 13, 2006 10:25 pm

    LOVE the photo!!!! What a perfect angle. It’s very emotive. Might be interesting with something on it, or like some sandals at the bottom of the ladder, to add some life. But I don’t know a lot about photography I just take photos of my girls!!

Leave a Reply

