Skip to content

Ze Mean Bean Cafe

May 29, 2006

This past Friday night, Josh and I met our friends Robin and Justin at Ze Mean Bean Cafe in Fells Point for my birthday. It’s an Eastern European Coffee and Wine Bar and we were excited to try some food we’re not used to eating regularly.

We started with the cheese board as an appetizer with Asaigo, fresh Mozzarella, and Canadian Cheddar. This was good, but for the price, I don’t know if I’d get it again. Josh ordered Chicken Kiev, which is a boneless chicken breast filled with traditional Kiev butter accompanied by scalloped potatoes and sauted haricot vert (which seemed to be green beans, as far as we could tell). The Chicken Kiev was good but tasted like fried chicken. I ordered the Pierogies filled with potato & cheese, sauerkraut, and sweet farmer’s cheese. Served with braised vegetables and pickled red cabbage. The vegetables were uncommonly good, and I surprised myself by liking the pickled cabbage!

Our friends ordered some of the specials, and I must say, considering they paid more for their dinner, their portions were much smaller than the dinners Josh and I chose, which ranged from $8-$15. I’d recommend sticking to their “slavic signitures” on the menu.

By far, the most delicious thing was dessert and coffee. Josh and Justin ordered a dessert that had a oreo crumb crust, a layer of caramel, and then chocolate mouse. It was out of this world! I had a mint mocha with Godiva flavoring that was completely decadent. Robin had a peanut butter coffee drink which she said was excellent too.

So overall, I’d say the food was good but not fabulous, while the dessert was scrumptious. The atmosphere is more cafe than restaurant, so you could feel free to come in and just order dessert and a coffee. The space is cozy and tavern-like, with dark wood and low lighting. They often have live music in the evenings; while we were there a violinst played music ranging from celtic to contemporary favorites. And on first and third Thursdays, our own Amanda is there performing jazz with some excellent jazz musicians, so that would be a good night to plan for dessert and coffee.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2006 11:06 am

    Justin and I also really enjoyed Ze Mean Bean Cafe and would recommend it as well. Our meals were lime infused chicken and grooper (the specials). The grooper was excellent and, although it was expensive, it was in line with other restaurants in the area, like, Kali’s Court for fresh fish. I can’t wait to go back just for coffee and entertainment though. It def. has a laid back feel that’s great for winding down after a long week! Thanks, Danielle for suggesting we try it!

  2. May 30, 2006 11:48 am

    Glad you posted what you guys ordered, I couldn’t remember! I knew you had lime something . . .

  3. May 30, 2006 1:38 pm

    Yummy! You are making me hungry. I love perogies…spent a summer in Russia. And the oreo thing sounds so good. I love trying out new places. I went to one here about a month ago that has kareoke Opera/show tunes. The food was Italian and soooo good. But the people performing were AMAZING.

  4. May 30, 2006 3:34 pm

    Ze Mean Bean is also sort of “in the family.” By that I mean, if you’ve been a regular WRBS listener, you might feel like family of Dick Ireland. Well, his sister-in-law (Jeannette’s sister and Ruth Lloyd’s sister too) owns the joint! All these years and i’ve never tried it. Okay, so what’s the date of Amanda’s next performance. I say we all caravan down there and fill up her tip jar –and wolf down an oreo thingie to boot.

  5. May 30, 2006 3:35 pm

    Ze Mean Bean is also sort of “in the family.” By that I mean, if you’ve been a regular WRBS listener, you might feel like family of Dick Ireland. Well, his sister-in-law (Jeannette’s sister and Ruth Lloyd’s sister too) owns the joint! All these years and i’ve never tried it. Okay, so what’s the date of Amanda’s next performance. I say we all caravan down there and fill up her tip jar –and wolf down an oreo thingie to boot.

  6. May 30, 2006 4:44 pm

    That place looks adorable and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  7. May 30, 2006 6:49 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like you had an enjoyable time.

  8. May 30, 2006 10:02 pm

    OH, yeah, happy belated birthday from me, too!

  9. May 30, 2006 10:14 pm

    I ate piorogies there for the first time…and if you know me, that’s a stretch! And they were even filled with saurkraut! It was actually pretty good! But I am a favorite of their apple cake.

  10. May 31, 2006 4:36 pm

    I’m echoing the Happy Belated Birthday wishes!!

  11. June 2, 2006 12:58 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  12. June 2, 2006 12:59 pm

    Happy Birthday, Danielle! Sorry I missed it by a few days. My college roommate married a Canadian, so she is well-acquainted with pierogies. She’s learned to make them, and I must say they are completely delicious if not slightly fattening. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

