Skip to content

Then Sings My Soul

May 26, 2006

Yesterday I was walking down the street. The air was tremulous, as if awaiting the rain shower that would soon come.
Then I heard a sound . . .

I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed. . .

I saw him, sitting on a stoop, leaning against the brown-stone building. Hat skewed on his head, guitar in hand, and eyes bright.

Then sings my soul, My Savior God, to Thee . . .

His voice was resounding, yet low and smooth. I caught his eye.

How great Thou art, How great Thou art. . .

I smiled.

Then sings my soul, My Savior God, to Thee. . .

His eyes smiled.

How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

I passed. Drops of rain softly drifted from clouds in the sky and landed on the pavement.

Then sings my soul!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2006 12:14 pm

    Amazing! Someone downtown singing a hymn in public? Wished I’d been there. I love that song, but crack up to remember that at Mt. Zion my dad was the choir director and told the choir to be sure to enunciate. Otherwise it sounds like “How Gray Thou Are.”

  2. May 26, 2006 12:33 pm

    what a wonderful song to hear! Great story!

  3. May 26, 2006 7:16 pm

    What a lovely encounter!

  4. mom permalink
    May 26, 2006 9:52 pm

    I immediately thought of mom, Danielle; one of her favorite hymns. I can hear and see her singing it even now. What a lovely encounter while walking the streets of Baltimore. Sounds like something mom would be doing only she’d be singing loudly!

  5. May 28, 2006 9:28 pm

    Very cool. What a rare experience you won’t forget any time soon.

  6. May 30, 2006 11:09 am

    Great story and a very creative way to write about it too 🙂

  7. May 30, 2006 4:46 pm

    one of my two favorite hymns. My grandmother loved it. At her Memorial Service we had this older gentleman sing it acapella all the way through and it was so touching. I can still hear him singing it!

Leave a Reply

