Skip to content

Revolution

May 22, 2006

“. . . the kingdom of God is within you.” Luke 17:21

At first, it might sound like New Age jargon, but “the kingdom of God is within you” is right out of scripture. Apparently, God’s really trying to teach me about His kingdom lately. I already mentioned being convicted about my view of God’s kingdom in a previous post, and now I’ve been struck by it again.

Intrigued by this phrase, I went to William Barclay’s commentary, The Gospel of Luke. Barclay writes, “. . . the kingdom of God works in human hearts; it is to produce not new things, but new people. It is not a revolution in material things that we are to look for but a revolution in hearts of men and women.”

He goes on to explain the Greek in this phrase could be translated in two different ways and a second interpretation of this passage could be “the kingdom of God is among you.” He explains, “That would refer to Jesus himself. He was the very embodiment of the kingdom, and they did not recognize him.”

The wonderful things is no matter which way it’s interpreted, as Christians, Jesus is “among” us and “within” us. Jesus has come into my heart and is with me and works his kingdom purposes from the inside out. Those who looked and still look for God’s kingdom to come in some tangible way, within the government or nation, are looking in the wrong place. It’s in the “mundane task of living” that we share the kingdom of God with others. Sometimes, others will catch a glimpse of this unearthly kingdom in our lives, and God may use that to start a revolution of the heart. Let’s start a revolution today!

Kingdom Comes
by Sara Groves

When anger fills your heart
When in your pain and hurt
You find the strength to stop
You bless instead of curse

When doubting floods your soul
Though all things feel unjust
You open up your heart
You find a way to trust

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming

When fear engulfs your mind
Says you protect your own
You still extend your hand
You open up your home

When sorrow fills your life
When in your grief and pain
You choose again to rise
You choose to bless the name

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming

In the mundane tasks of living
In the pouring out and giving
In the waking up and trying
In the laying down and dying

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2006 10:08 am

    Danielle, that was very timely for me. Thank you for that post! I’m so sorry that it didn’t work out on Saturday. I actually don’t think I had a virus anyway, but I’m glad I was being cautious. We will definitely reschedule.

    Thanks!

    Beth

  2. May 22, 2006 12:41 pm

    What a good reminder. Thank you. Great lyrics too.

  3. May 22, 2006 2:13 pm

    Man, I love Sarah Groves. Her lyrics are like few other I’ve ever been exposed to. She must just speak the language that makes sense to both my heart and my mind.
    I love this song. We must get her new album. Maybe that will be the way I “indulge” myself for having to go to the hospital this week! 🙂

  4. May 22, 2006 2:45 pm

    Yes, Jesus said, “The kingdom of God is at hand.” It’s not ” a stones’ throw from here” or “coming on the morrow” but it’s at hand. I,for one, have a hard time gripping that concept. Thanks for your study into the topic!

  5. May 23, 2006 4:01 am

    Have you ever read “The Divine Conspiracy” by Dallas Willard? It’s quite a deep book; he talks a lot about the kingdom of God and the beatitudes. Definitely not light reading, but I recommend it!

  6. May 23, 2006 8:25 am

    Danielle, is that from Sara Groves newest album? I keep meaning to pick that album up. Great lyrics and great reminder in your post!

  7. May 23, 2006 9:23 am

    Thanks for the book suggestion, Sarah, no I’ve never read it. Yes, Ashleigh, that’s from Sara Groves’ newest album, “Add to the Beauty,” which I highly recommend it!

  8. May 23, 2006 1:05 pm

    I have been thinking about this too lately! God works in crazy ways! Thanks for sharing this, and for the song.

Leave a Reply

