Skip to content

In Memory of Timothy Barranco

May 16, 2006

On Friday I received a surprising call from my husband telling me a friend had tragically died. Tim Barranco was someone I’ve known for a good many years. First, our sisters played basketball together on the CHEN (homeschool) team. Then we worked together for two summers at Beachmont Christian Camp. Later I ended up going to his church, Chesapeake Community Church.

When I think of Tim, I think of one of the most godly young men I know. His depth and love for others always encouraged me. The second year at Beachmont I got to know Tim better. My friends Emily, CJ, Tim, and I were all senior counselors who led junior counselor devotions, and I believe it was Tim that initiated that all four of should get together to pray before we led devotions with the younger kids.

Tim was a quiet, understated guy, but when he preached, he almost became another person. He had presence and authority. I remember him preaching at Beachmont as well as at Towson University, where he was an undergraduate student. I know he touched so many lives through his various forms of ministry.

A blog has been set up to honor Tim’s memory. For those of you who knew him, you can post your sympathy to his family and memories of Tim here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2006 8:27 am

    Thanks for letting us know about Tim’s blog. I just read the two posts that are up there and a few of the comments and am sitting here in tears, but amazed by grace.
    I have been meditating on these words from a worship song we sing at church as I’ve thought of Tim for the last week,
    “IF my hold should ever fail, Your Wondrous Love will never let me go.”

    Thank you, Lord, that your love is an everlasting love, that your faithfulness reaches to the clouds and that while grace has carried us thus far, it will carry us all the way Home. Thank you, Lord, that your grace has carried Tim Home.

  2. May 17, 2006 9:35 am

    Thoughts and prayers are w/you as you remember your friend. Heaven’s gonna rock.

  3. May 18, 2006 9:47 pm

    There are so many things to associate with Tim. At his funeral today, 4 men from different seasons of Tim’s life spoke. Yet each man pulled the same attributes to describe Tim. From the time he was 16 up until last week, he was known for his humility, gentleness, meekness, teachability, love of God’s word, and servant heart. I have never heard a bad word spoken about Tim. He truly was a man of God, who you felt God’s presence, just by being in Tim’s presence.

    But to describe Tim, you also have to describe his humor and competivie nature. He would show no mercy in the midst of a soccer game and had no problem taking me down! His intelligent wit was one that I loved to banter back and forth with. His quiet smile would come forth in the midst of his dry humor.

    Even in this tragedy, God still remained victorious. Death has no power over Tim, and in that we can rejoice.

Leave a Reply

