Skip to content

My Mom

May 14, 2006

Nite, nite
Sleep tight
Don’t let the bed bugs bite
See you in the morningtime
Sweet dreams
I love you the best!

Sometime when I was too young to remember, my mom started saying this little poem to me before I went to sleep. Growing up, I couldn’t go to sleep unless she tucked me in and we said it together. On the night before my wedding, we said it and cried.

When I think about my mom, I think of unselfish sacrifice. I could give endless examples but I’ll try to stick to just a few. Mom has spent years of her life dedicated to teaching her children. She homeschooled us all and also taught us to love God. Her example of starting each day privately with Bible reading and prayer are always with me. When we were older she’s worked jobs she’s hated to help us get by. She rarely spends money on herself, but instead, saves for her children (and let me tell you, if anyone know how to live on nothing, it’s my mom).

Her example of humility has always impressed me. When she’s responded in ways that she became convicted were wrong, she’d come to us even as children and ask our forgiveness. That’s always impacted me and made me respect her more. I can remember when little being amazed that “mom could be wrong” and even more amazed that she admitted it. That example is one I want to give my own children some day.

My mom has also been through a lot of suffering. Growing up my mom’s life was hard. My grandfather was a selfish, hard, unloving man and growing up with him was a challenge. And one mother’s day–when my mom was 13–her brothers were involved in a car accident that killed one of them. Once married, she’s been through endless financial hardships, health issues including a lost pregnancy, and a lot of moving around to various states and houses. We moved 9 times before I was 14! And we had to live in my grandparent’s unfinished basement the year she had my youngest sister. Now that I’m older I’m even more thankful and impressed with my mom. Now I realize the challenges these trials were in a way I couldn’t completely understand when I was younger. And my mom still looks to the Lord for hope and sustaining power.

As the years have gone by, when many people her age are retiring or have more leisure time, my mom’s had to work harder than ever. Due to various family issues, this has probably turned out to be the hardest year of my mom’s life. But how her example still shines. She seeks not her will but God’s in every circumstance. She is an example of forgiveness. She longs for the Lord’s presence and direction. She isn’t perfect in these areas or this struggle, but she knows God’s grace, mercy, and strength are renewed to her each day. She is an example of perseverance in trails.

Proverbs 31:30-31 says:

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

Give her the reward she has earned,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Mom, you are to be praised because you fear the Lord. Thank you for you love, example, and unselfish sacrifice. Love you and happy Mother’s Day!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2006 9:39 am

    Danielle, what a beautiful tribute to your mom! 🙂 Sounds like she’s a wonderful woman!

  2. May 15, 2006 11:18 am

    what great words to your mother Danielle! Great words from the word as well 🙂

  3. May 15, 2006 11:44 am

    Very meaningful, Danielle. I’ve only met your mom once but I can tell from what you’ve said throughout the past year that she is a shining example of the Proverbs 31 woman.

  4. May 15, 2006 12:43 pm

    This is precious, Danielle. You’re mother is blessed to have a perceptive daughter who can articulate so beautifully what she sees.

  5. May 15, 2006 8:55 pm

    Danielle, that was so nice.

  6. mom permalink
    May 17, 2006 5:39 pm

    Oh my little sweet first born how richly my “Papa” God has blest me through you, and each one of your siblings. You’ve all often been as a mirror to me that He has used to teach, convict and heal. It has been a joy, blessing, opportunity, priviledge and the greatest satisfaction to be your Mama. I can hardly believe you all came from me and your Dad. The wonders God can perform, all praise, glory and honor is due is merciful, holy precious name.Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah through eternity.

Leave a Reply

