Skip to content

Favorite Spring Things

April 26, 2006

* The scent of fresh cut grass

* Lilacs in the house

* Meat on the grill

* No socks

* Warm breezes and sunshine

* Dogwoods blooming

* Digging in the dirt

* It’s still light at 6:30, when I get home from work

What’s your favorite spring things?

(Note: I took this picture last spring on a walk with Josh one Sunday afternoon)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2006 5:53 pm

    Leaves and flowers budding on trees …

    My daughter’s birthday …

    Memories of starting the courtship with my husband in the spring four years ago …

    Great “taking the kids to the zoo” weather …

    And, as you said Danielle, no socks!!

  2. April 27, 2006 9:36 pm

    A new thing I love about Spring is researching our homeschool curriculum for the next year. That in addition to many of the things you so beautifully expressed in your post!

  3. April 28, 2006 12:58 am

    -no coats
    -birthdays
    -flowers
    -smell of rain
    -the thoughts of a garden (which i never do)
    -sunsets over the lake & adirondacks
    -no mosquitos YET!!!

  4. April 28, 2006 8:16 am

    I like being able to go outside after dinner and the kids can play in the yard and I can start pulling out the lawn furniture. I love getting the yard ready for summer. On the other hand I also like putting all the yard things away in the fall and getting ready to “hunker down” for winter. I guess I’m just real easy to please.

  5. April 28, 2006 2:49 pm

    dogwoods and daffodils
    open windows
    reading outside
    baseball games
    April showers
    my husband in shorts!!

  6. April 28, 2006 3:21 pm

    meat on the grill! (much agreed)

    longer daylight…

    I never wear socks even when it is cold, but wearing sandals! YAY!

    warm spring rain…

    spring cleaning…

    sitting outside…

    playing outside…

    blooming flowers…

  7. April 28, 2006 8:23 pm

    All the new life you can smell in the air.

    Warm days and cool nights

    Bubbles and sidewalk chalk

    Opening the house up to all the fresh air

    PS thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. You have a very lovely blog too, I look forward to checking it out in the future.

  8. April 28, 2006 10:58 pm

    Ditto on the lilacs, dogwoods and bare feet! Although, it could be 30 degrees outside, and I’d still run outside w/out any socks or shoes on!

    *cool nights and warm days

    *signs of life in God’s amazing creation

    *less clothes to put on the boys in order to take them outside

    *smell of neighborhood grills

    *sounds of kids playing outside in the dark night (except our neighborhood kids who have potty mouths)

    *END OF TAX SEASON!!!!

  9. April 29, 2006 1:11 pm

    All that you’ve said, plus:

    lacrosse games

    getting new nail polish colors

    starting house projects or watching my husband do them (in shorts…yes, great legs at 44 and I’m still lookin’ at ’em)

    watching robins hop along the grass, stop to peck at a potential breakfast treat …gummy worms?

    live piano concerts I hear when the neighbor’s windows are open

    planning vacation

    finding next year’s homeschool curriculum and the mercy of hope that “next year will be better”

    Ben’s birthday is the first day of spring

    Sarah’s follows in April

  10. April 30, 2006 11:50 am

    and Passover and Resurrection celebrations!

  11. May 1, 2006 2:39 pm

    Praying the prayers of others is new to me and a great help to my quiet/prayer times. I feel like I’m in the Grammer stage of learning and maybe someday I’ll graduate to the Rhetoric stage, but for now (or at least lately), I need the words of others. Glad you can relate.

  12. May 2, 2006 7:07 am

    one thing i love is the spring rain, knowing that the plants and trees are soakiing it up and will be in full bloom soon and i love seeing my kids in their bright yellow raincoats and rubber frog boots (silas lovvvvves the puddles 🙂

  13. May 2, 2006 12:31 pm

    +The smell of grass right after it has been mowed
    +The flowers
    +The sunshine AND the rain
    +The full green trees and refreshing stream out back
    +Not dark until nearly 9
    +Snowball stands open
    +The smell of the spring air
    +Barefeet and sandals
    +The feeling that everything is now fresh and new.

  14. May 8, 2006 10:56 am

    Hmmm:

    Planting flowers
    Having fresh flowers in my house with my shades open and a cool breeze coming through the house
    Running around outside with my kids
    grilling out
    Following my kids around the neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

