Skip to content

Rainy Day Knitting

April 10, 2006

Saturday ended up being the perfect day for a knitting party. It was cold and rainy. No one was tempted to be outside. Zoanna, Nicole, my friend Robin, and Connie (who’s new to our church), all met at my house bearing food and bouquets of flowers (thanks Zoanna and Robin!).

The first two hours were spent talking and eating. It was a great time of fellowship. One thing that was neat was that all of us didn’t know each other that well. It was great to get to know fellow bloggers better, as well as other ladies in the church that aren’t in my small group and don’t have a chance to interact with as much. And we ate really well! I made chicken tortilla soup, Zoanna brought fabulously soft buttery rolls, Robin brought veggies with a zesty dip, Nicole brought a lemon raspberry tort, and Connie brought chocolate.

I’m not sure if we all took to the knitting part, but we had a good time trying. Nicole was very patient with all our questions and confusion. But we all got a good start I think. Knitting brought up some great conversations too, and at times we were inspired, challenged, and encouraged, as each of us shared little parts of our lives with each other.

I think we’ll have to do stuff like this more often. Thanks for making the day special ladies! (Look for pictures of the event on Nicole’s blog.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2006 12:53 pm

    Thank YOU, Danielle. It was a really special afternoon making memories and fellowshipping. Never mind that I ripped as many stitches as I knitted or purled, or cast on! Your soup was wonderful, your house warm and homey, and the company was one I’d been wanting for awhile–that of people I don’t normally hang out with (mostly). Thanks for your hospitality!

  2. April 10, 2006 4:28 pm

    I was thinking to myself “It’s so great to get to know these girls…like a Care Group friends outside of Care Group!” What a wonderful day. Thanks again for having us over.

  3. April 10, 2006 6:16 pm

    sounds like a great time. I am glad you had a wonderful time together!

  4. April 11, 2006 12:29 pm

    No problem, my pleasure!

  5. April 13, 2006 10:06 am

    Danielle, your house looks so great and I had a wonderful time! Thanks, Nicole for teaching us. When I got home and got back to work, I realised that I hadn’t counted anything and had 43 loops on my needle!! So, my hubby took great joy (amdist my frustation)in figuring out exactly how many stiches I must have added each time…not sure why that was so much fun for him 😛 Guess I’ll have to pick up a book, but right now, it sure looks pretty in the little basket I put it in, LOL! And, yeah, when’s scrapping??? I’ll volunteer my house, but I live pretty far from you all, still happy to host a scrapping day if you all would drive down!

Leave a Reply

