Skip to content

“I am the Lord’s servant”

April 5, 2006


“I am the Lord’s servant . . . may it be to me as you’ve said.” Luke 1:38

May this be my response to everything in my life. May I identify myself as a servant of the Lord. May I be willing to bear whatever the Lord lays on me, whether it’s something I consider good news or bad

Mary’s news was essentially the news of the Gospel. She would bear Christ; she would bear the means of her salvation in her body. Although this was “tidings of great joy that would be to all people” we can’t ignore the pain it would cost her personally: Her reputation possibly ruined (Joseph didn’t believe her right away . . . what did her parents think of her news? The townspeople?). She would witness Christ’s vile death. Did her mother’s heart break? Did she ever doubt the angel’s message those dark days? Did she remember Simeon’s prophecy, “And a sword will pierce your own soul too” (Luke 2:35)?

But still she answered: “I am the Lord’s servant, may it be to as you’ve said.” So may it be with me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2006 2:34 pm

    Danielle,

    I was confronted last night by how resolute my hard heart can be at having my own way. Through a divine combination of an outward circumstance, the portion I read from “A Place of Quiet Rest”, and the Holy Spirit, I realized that I am not currently postured as Mary was postured when she received the news that she would bear the Son of God. Instead, I find my resolve to submit to the Father’s will for my life fizzles quickly at the first hint of something going against my will.
    God is faithful, and I trust Him to complete the good work He’s begun in me. Most days, it feels like one step forward, two steps back.
    So, when you read my comment, would you say a prayer for me, that I, too, would with Mary and you and many of the Lord’s redeemed say, “I am the Lord’s servant . . . may it be to me as you’ve said.”?
    Thanks for posting this.

  2. April 6, 2006 9:49 am

    Briana, I took a moment to pray for you just now. BTW, isn’t that book great?

  3. April 6, 2006 4:20 pm

    I’ve often pondered if any of us really know what the term “servant” means. In this country, servants are tipped, most are given uniforms, many live with the wealthy and have fringe benefits, including a week’s pay without working. Obviously we still have our low-class servants who ride trash trucks and clean public bathrooms, but even our service in the church at home is pretty sanitized and often recognized, huh? Let’s dialog about this more.

Leave a Reply

