Skip to content

Thorns

March 31, 2006

Note: I posted this about 7 months ago, but am reposting it, because it’s a good reminder for me today. It’s also a thoughtful reminder with Easter approaching us. If I can figure it out, Josh and I recorded this song in GarageBand and I’ll try to post it.

Can I bear this for your name?
You who bore my pain
Took away my shame
How can I complain?
Of thorns in my side
When you bled and died
For my sake?

When it feels too much to bear
And I’m close to despair
I remember how
Thorns were made into a crown
On your royal head pressed down.
How can I complain
Of thorns in my side
When you bled and died
For my sake?

Chorus:
Because of your sacrifce
You relate with pain
You felt the wrath of God
You took it in my place.
And though my trial seems so big
By faith I’ll follow you
You walked the road of suffering
By grace I walk it too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2006 12:22 pm

    Thanks for posting this again. I have recently been convicted about omplaining, and your song just puts in all in perspective.

  2. April 1, 2006 12:44 pm

    what a wonderfully written song. I would love to hear it! The lyrics are a great reminder of the price Jesus paid on our behalf. Thanks for sharing it!

  3. April 1, 2006 7:25 pm

    Amazing poem. But even more amazing is that his love is so great for me that he’d take the thorns that should be my crown. Thanks for sharing this again.

Leave a Reply

