Skip to content

Build like Nehemiah

February 19, 2006

These are lyrics to a song I wrote during church. I guess you could say I was taking notes 🙂

Build like Nehemiah
The work of the Lord
Though opposed by enemies
Though hindered by fear within
Let the work begin

chorus
Stone upon stone
Let us build up the church
Word upon Word
Let us build up our lives
On the rock that will stand
Christ the cornerstone

Be careful that you build
A foundation of Christ
Repent and be restored
Cleansed from within
Let the work begin

You alone are Lord
And this work is yours
It will never fail
For you covenant love will prevail

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2006 5:12 pm

    Got music?

    I like these lyrics.

  2. February 20, 2006 6:23 pm

    Yeah, I usually write lyrics with a melody in my head. But Josh has to help me flush it out and make it more interesting:) We’ve been working on recording stuff using GarageBand which is sooo fun, but we’re still trying to figure the whole software out. This song has a real African beat to it.

  3. February 20, 2006 8:33 pm

    I would love to hear the finished song someday.

    — SJ

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 21, 2006 9:09 am

    Do you mean “flesh it out”? I can’t imagine why you’d want to flush it out. I thought it was pretty good! 🙂

  5. February 21, 2006 9:38 am

    Ooops, that was a typo, and a funny one at that! I was talking about the music, which does need some more work.

  6. February 22, 2006 1:27 pm

    Nice poem, Danielle. I have a feeling that if I attempted to write a poem based on the teachings from Nehemiah, it would end up a limerick or something. (Not because of Nehemiah, of course, but because of my poetic ineptitude).

Leave a Reply

