Skip to content

Snow Love

February 12, 2006

I looked forward to the snow this weekend, excited like a child who anxiously stands on tip-toe and looks out the window, waiting for the first flake. I love snow and how it inspires delight:

* The slender arms of trees that were bare are now covered in soft snow, like white cotton dresses
* How the snow brings quietness, and the little nature sounds of birds and rustlings seem magnified
* The world is reincarnated, like magic, into a sugary-looking fairy land, that makes me see things in new ways, with new eyes
* Not having to go anywhere but enjoying domestic delights instead
* An especially long quiet time, unhurried, because I don’t have to go anywhere
* Sledding down hills so fast, laughing, falling, getting cold
* Coming inside exhausted and eating hearty soup
* Curling up with hot cocoa and a book or an old movie in the evening with my sweetheart

Thank you Lord for snow, and how it brings out that childish delight that you love so much. Let me remember to delight in you who made the snow, but a gift and small sign of your beauty. Let me come to you as a child, covered in the white snow of your grace and mercy, for my sins were as scarlet . . .

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2006 5:01 pm

    From a quick look through others’ blogs, it appears we were all a bit snow “hungry” and thorougly delighted in the Glory of God displayed this weekend.
    How fun to share in the delight and to know the Creator.

  2. February 12, 2006 6:21 pm

    Sheer poetry in these first couple of lines, Danielle. I was about to scroll down and look for the author! Lo and behold, those are your beautiful images in print. I love the “slender arms of trees that were bare and now covers them in soft snow, like white cotton dresses.’ A 12-inch round tunnel of snow was kind of sliding off my deck railing today. I should have taken a picture. I was trying to compare it to something picturesque, but all I came up with was PVC pipe. Do I live with a handyman or what? 🙂 Now back to my soup….

  3. February 12, 2006 6:44 pm

    Thank you for your beautiful descriptions. It inspires me to be more poetic when I write. I’m such a prosey little thing.

  4. February 13, 2006 10:40 am

    Amazing that ya’ll are buried under a foot of the fluffy white attestation to winter while I ponder using my AC as it climbs to 80. So much for “winter” in CA.

  5. February 13, 2006 7:22 pm

    you write so well! I always love coming to read your posts! Thanks for sharing, and yay for some snow! We had a small downfall this weekend as well but alas it has all since melted away. But I am enjoying the 40 degree weather outside,rather than the bitter cold!

Leave a Reply

