Skip to content

Beverly of the Philippines

January 8, 2006

I picked her out from a bunch of pictures of kids who needed sponsors. She was so cute and little. I’d wanted to sponsor a child from World Vision or Compassion for years and in college I finally decided I would, sharing the monthly payment by co-sponsoring with my sister. So I picked Beverly through Compassion. She lives in the Philippines with her father and mother and has three siblings. Her father is only employed sporadically. My support helps Beverly go to school and Bible class. She loves swimming, volleyball, and singing, and she regularly attends Sunday School and Vacation Bible School.

I’ve been Beverly’s sponsor for going on five years now and she’s taught me so much. To be grateful for simple things, for example. Once she wrote to thank me for a gift she’s received from me for her birthday, and she was so excited to get the boots she needed. Boots! To think what joy that simple gift brought her and compare that to when I materialistically would want so much more than boots for my birthday. Her example is humbling. (For Christmas and birthday gifts you just send money and Compassion workers who know your child buy what they need, plus the US dollars go further in other countries. They discourage you sending packages because I don’t really know what she needs and there’s a good chance her gift would never make it to her due to the corruption.)

I love reading the letters she sends me, full of what she’s learning and Bible verses she sends me that make almost make me cry. In her last letter she sent me Psalm 25:15-16: “I always look to you, because you rescue me from every trap. I am lonely and troubled. Show that you care and have pity on me.” Also, Proverbs 17:17: “A friend loveth at all times.” She has become my friend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2006 8:21 pm

    We’d love to meet our little Compassion “daughter” in person. She’s been “ours” for about five years also. Her name is Ruth Rebecca and she lives in Mexico. Her letters and drawings are precious. We especially like her greeting: “Dear Godfather Paul….” We were convicted throught her last letter when she said, “Why haven’t you written me back?” Gulp. A letter went out yesterday!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Beverly’s Growing Up « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

