Skip to content

Deeper Magic

December 12, 2005

I remember reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe when I was around 11 years old. I remember reading the part about when Aslan is killed right before bedtime, and sobbing my eyes out like Susan and Lucy. Then, I remembered something the lady from my church, who lent me the books had say, which gave me hope. The books had symbolic components of the Christian narrative, which must mean Aslan would come back to life!

So it was with childish excitement that Josh and I went to see the Narnia movie on Friday night. And I must say I was very pleased with the movie. Everyone else has been blogging the heck out of the movie, so no film critique here, just what I thought worked and what didn’t.

I thought the casting of Lucy (Georgie Henley) and the White Witch (Tilda Swinton) were particularly excellent. Lucy stole the show for me. I’d watch that little girl in anything after this performance! Look out Dakota Fanning! The White Witch was chilling and strongly portrayed. I thought the sound track was good as well, with Enya-like celtic melodies and some period-style big band music towards the beginning.

There were a few scenes that weren’t in the book to make it more “adventurous,” I suppose, but they didn’t bother me. Aslan was good, but not great. I thought Liam Neeson did a good job as Aslan’s voice but Aslan’s majesty and strength were lacking. Mainly because it didn’t feel like he was a real lion. But I think he was about as good as you can get with a lion that’s supposed to talk and portray a Christ figure. However, at the same time, he did not disappoint me. Sometimes the scenery felt fake and animated but overall, it was an excellent film that I enjoyed and was not disappointed in at all.

The little boys sitting next to me were entertaining as well. When Lucy first goes into the wardrobe, one of boys exclaimed: “Wow, she’s brave!” Another boy commented that about the fast growth of the folige when spring arrived, “Stuff doesn’t grow that fast,” he said skeptically. He friend replied rather sarcastically: “That’s why it’s called fantasy.”

I’m looking forward to the DVD so I can catch all the behind the scenes stuff. And I hope this movie opens up conversations with those around me about the deeper magic of the Narnia redemption story.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2005 2:40 pm

    We took the kids Friday also, and we loved it! My two oldest have read the books. I’m going to start reading them The Magician’s Nephew out loud to fill Ethan in on where it began. I also cannot wait to own it so I can see all the cool stuff. Jim said they have already signed to do a second one. I loved Mr. Tumnus and Lucy!

  2. December 12, 2005 5:19 pm

    I agree pretty much across the line with your opinion. I was pleased that they gave Aslan a couple of lighter remarks (“And Beaver tells me that you wanted to make him into a hat.”), which kept him from being too distant and dignified.

    In the book, when the White Witch challenges whether Aslan will keep his promise, he roars and she runs away. The change in the movie worked, though, because it was more humiliating for Swinton’s Witch to get laughed at. (I liked the portrayal of the Witch a lot.)

    My two favorite lines:

    “Not to be rude, but I wasn’t talking to you.”

    “It is finished.”

    — SJ

  3. December 12, 2005 5:19 pm

    I am so glad you enjoyed it, and have good things to say about it. I am soooo looking forward to seeing it.!

  4. December 12, 2005 5:59 pm

    It’s funny that you commented that you enjoyed the little girl who portrayed Lucy. Miguel and I walked out of the movie last night saying that we particularly didn’t like her in the role of Lucy! =) we did, however, really like Peter’s character. I am not quite sure my feelings on the movie, as yet. I know everyone has loved it, but the jury is still out for me. Somehow I felt it was lacking, and can’t quite put my finger on it! I need some good scholarly discussion on it, to help put my mind at ease!

  5. December 13, 2005 10:40 am

    Lib,
    Check out this review, it may articulate what you’re feeling:
    http://theologica.blogspot.com/
    Even though I loved it, I kind of agree about what he says about Aslan and the effects, but from the previews I expected it, which is maybe why I was less disappointed.

  6. December 13, 2005 11:30 am

    I definitely agree… I loved the movie, but I definitely did not feel that Aslan was effective. The death and resurrection scene were too rushed and the interaction between Aslan and the girls after his resurrection was barely touched. I enjoyed the movie, though (its like food to me… very few movies I have seen, do I actually detest).–>

Leave a Reply

