Skip to content

Groove to Groves

November 29, 2005

Sara Groves has a new CD out called Add to the Beauty that hasn’t yet left my CD player since I put it in. Check out her newly revamped website! What I appreciate about Sara is her lyrics. She’s a great storyteller and takes everyday, mundane aspects of life and weaves them into a profound song.

I think she and Nicole Nordeman (who’s more metaphoric in her song writing style) are two of the best female song writers out there today, writing fresh, creative, music while sticking close to biblical truth. When I can listen to a CD I’ve had for three years and still hear something new and be convicted and challenged, that’s good songwriting!

I just have to share a few of my favorite lyrics:

“You are the sun shining down on everyone
Light of the world giving light to everything I see
Beauty so brilliant I can hardly take it in
And everywhere you are is warmth and light

And I am the moon with no light of my own
Still you have made me to shine
And as I glow in this cold dark night
I know I canít be a light unless I turn my face to you”

from You Are the Sun (probably my favorite single on this CD) by Sara Groves and Matt Bronlewee

“When anger fills your heart
When in your pain and hurt
You find the strength to stop
You bless instead of curse

When doubting floods your soul
Though all things feel unjust
You open up your heart
You find a way to trust

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming

When fear engulfs your mind
Says you protect your own
You still extend your hand
You open up your home

When sorrow fills your life
When in your grief and pain
You choose again to rise
You choose to bless the name

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming

In the mundane tasks of living
In the pouring out and giving
In the waking up and trying
In the laying down and dying

That’s a little stone that’s a little mortar
That’s a little seed that’s a little water
In the hearts of the sons and the daughters
The kingdom’s coming”

from Kingdom Comes by Sara Groves

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    November 30, 2005 9:42 pm

    I have loved Sara Groves ever since my dad introduced her to me a few years ago.
    The lyrics to that last song are amazing…and so true,
    Thanks for sharing, now I really want to get that CD!

  2. December 1, 2005 3:00 pm

    I love Sara Groves and Nicole Nordeman too! In fact, they are two of my three favorite christian artists. Throw Jennifer Knapp in there and you’ve got all the bases covered. It’s always amazed me how God can use lyrics from songs that you’ve heard a million times, but suddenly remind you of them in a season where they are applicable. I can definently say that I’ve foudn myself crying (or should I singing) out right along with them.

  3. December 1, 2005 11:56 pm

    I have never heard of her. But the lyrics you posted are beautiful, definately going to get the CD! Thanks !

  4. December 2, 2005 2:15 pm

    What style of music is Sara Groves? I’ll have to look her up, as I’m always happy to find a new Christian artist worth listening to. I no longer have fussy “convictions” about music, but I’m still pretty picky about what I enjoy. 🙂

    — SJ

Leave a Reply

