Skip to content

Sanctuary

November 16, 2005

A few days ago I went to my favorite get-away spot at work, or my “sanctuary,” as I like to think of it. It’s where I go for my lunch break a few times a week when the weather is nice, when the gossip is bad, or if I just need a place for some peace and renewal to finish the day. I know I’m extremely blessed to have such a place. Many work situations aren’t conducive to a moment of solitude, and if you’re a mother you can’t even find such solitude in the bathroom. So I treasure it, knowing I won’t always have such moments to set aside.

I run across the cobble-stoned street and up the Peabody Music Conservatory’s stairs, opening the heavy carved doors. Across a landing and down the curving marble stairs I go, crossing another landing and going through another pair of doors I find myself back outside and in courtyard, walled in by Peabody’s buildings.

There are two sections to the courtyard and I like the farside, which is quieter from the chatter of students. Pansies are growing in concrete urns, their pretty upturned flower faces shake in the breezes. Peabody voices and instruments float from windows cracked open to form a weird symphony. I can hear traffic on the other side of my walled sanctuary and see the windows of an apartment building, which stare at me like unblinking eyes. Trees reach heavenward with their scrawny, almost leafless limbs. The sky and clouds form my sanctuary’s ceiling. And I am still. Then, I think I hear a gentle whisper and I sense Presence. I then know all the beauty around me is but the outer fringe of the sanctuary. The curtain of this reality has been torn and flutters, beckoning me to the other side. I glimpse it clearly for a second, yet how faint is the whisper I hear of Him.

Still Small Voice
(Meditation on 1 Kings 19:11-13 and Ps. 26:7-14)

You spread the skies in empty space
You suspend the earth over nothing
You wrap the waters in clouds
You churn the sea with your power
You are revealed in creation
But I’m still searching for you

You saved your children from slavery
Brought them through water to safety
You showed your glory to Moses
You whispered your presence to Elijah
You are revealed in history
But I’m still searching for you.

The heaven declare your glory
History proclaims your works
But these are just the outer fringe
They don’t compare to the whisper I hear of you
Speaking truth to my soul

You’re not in the wind
You’re not in the fire
You’re in a still small voice
That speaks to me

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2005 12:49 pm

    I love this post. I can picture all of it so vividly. What a special place this is, a place of peace and quite. A place of solitude. How beautiful. A place to be with God and reflect on his glory!

  2. November 16, 2005 12:51 pm

    Beautiful! So glad God has carved out this niche to meet you, to draw you away from the thorny world.

    One phrase made me laugh, though: “when the gossip is bad.”
    What about when it’s “good”? Do you stick around?

    JUUUUUUUUUUUUST kidding!

  3. November 16, 2005 3:48 pm

    That passage in I Kings is one of my favorites. I so identify w/ Elijah at that moment in his life. He has seen God move so powerfully (more than most will ever in their entire life) and then he’s complaining and fretful, hiding out in the desert. I love how gracious and compassionate the Lord shows Himself in this moment of Elijah’s life, and I’m so grateful He recorded it in His Word for us to benefit from. Thanks for sharing such a sweet, little meditation w/ us and your “sanctuary”. I’m happy with a picture and description nowadays! 🙂

  4. November 16, 2005 5:27 pm

    Don’t be frightened when you find me showing up to your sanctuary now! It sounds like the perfect place to really reflect…and to think, its in the middle of a city, and in the middle of a busy institute. God chooses to whisper to us in the most obscure places at times.

  5. November 20, 2005 6:56 pm

    Okay, so I’m inspired….I’m not sure the best way to go about this, but I decided to start my own blog, you’re right it’s a great way to stay connected.

  6. November 20, 2005 6:59 pm

    Let me correct that already, http://www.justpassingthroughthislife.blogspot.com

  7. November 23, 2005 10:08 am

    Thanks for the reading tips; THey were all really practical. Now, the trick is to apply them. The bathroom thing (as funny as that is) works well for me, too! 🙂
    I also get my most creative thoughts in the bathroom. What is it about the bathroom? 🙂
    We’re traveling today to PA, God willing, for the holiday. I’ll grab one of the books I just started and see how much I can read on the trip up. I like the books on tape thing for fiction. For some reason, fiction has always been the most difficult for me to get into…i’m much too serious for my own good. A little fiction would do me well, I think!
    Thanks for the recommendations. I’ve heard about the Mitford series from a lot of people. Seems to be a good pick.

Leave a Reply

