Skip to content

Quick Winter Supper

November 2, 2005

Last night Josh and I had one of my favorite winter “comfort” suppers. It’s quick and savory. The first time I had it my mom made it from the Little House cookbook. It was the only thing we ever made from that cookbook because most of the recipes were “how to make candy out of molasses and snow” or “curing cheese” or “how to salt meat” or something totally complicated and too much hard work.

But when my mom made Almanzo’s favorite meal from the “Farmer Boy” book, it was a total hit with our family. I remember eating it one wintry night with only kerosene lamps to light the table to make the meal more “authentic.” Anyway, Almanzo’s favorite meal was apples and onions. My mom added sausage the first time she made it and that’s the way we’ve had it ever since. No, it doesn’t sound that good at first, nor, I may warn you, does it look that good. But it tastes so delicious, sweet, and savory. So here it is (I don’t measure anything, just until it looks right):

*Cook sausage over medium heat until half cooked
*Then add peeled and sliced apples and coarsely chopped onions
*Cook and occasionally stir until meat is cooked through and apples and onions are soft
*Serve right away with perhaps some cornbread and apple cider, hmmmmm.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2005 11:56 am

    Sounds yummy. I’ll have to try it. But thanks in advance for the presentation warning. That way if the family says in their oh-so-delicate way, “That looks gross,” then I won’t be wondering if yours was somehow show-stopping pretty!

  2. November 3, 2005 11:54 am

    Mmm! I think it sounds great! In fact, we had apples, sausage and pancakes for breakfast the other morning. It was wonderful!

  3. November 3, 2005 3:09 pm

    Oh Dani that sounds awesome!! It definitely beats the carmel Hershey Kisses I have been eating on my ride home from work.

  4. November 3, 2005 4:06 pm

    I had that cookbook, too! And we never made stuff, either. 🙂 Thanks for reading my article and signing my blog! I’ll enjoy visiting yours, too.

  5. November 5, 2005 7:36 pm

    What a wonderful example your mother is to all of us. It is an inspiration that she took a favorite book and put a special stamp on it by making a meal from it. Thank you, Danielle’s mom. I am going to whip up some Green Eggs and Ham for breakfast tomorrow.–>

Leave a Reply

