Skip to content

MaryJane’s Farm

October 25, 2005

This is an awesome website that’s fun to get lost in. Mary Jane Butters has an organic-based business which I read about in Country Home. Since that article, my mom and I have become fans and my mom bought her book, Ideabook*Cookbook*Lifebook. For anybody into organic food, check out her site. Also, you simply must take a look at her Bed and Breakfast wall tents which are very unusual but beautiful. Makes me want to visit right now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2005 6:33 pm

    Yes they are beautiful but there are 3 reasons I will not be visiting them, “tent”, “outhouse”, and I’m assuming I don’t want to take a shower in anything called a “pumphouse.” Although I am going to have Jim look at the picture because I think it would be a neat thing to build in our yard. Ya gotta love indoor plumbing, I know I do!

  2. October 26, 2005 10:20 pm

    All right, I’m all into food, but technically, isn’t it ALL organic? I mean, I thought the definition of organic is anything with carbon. In which cake Diet Coke is organic. Do you mean pesticide-free food, or am I mixed up? Well, okay, we KNOW I”m mixed up, but could you clarify what “organic” food is as opposed to “regular, non-organic” food?

  3. October 27, 2005 8:41 am

    There are many definitions for organic in Dictionary.com. #3 is: “marked by, or involving the use of fertilizers or pesticides that are strictly of animal or vegetable origin: organic vegetables; an organic farm.
    Raised or conducted without the use of drugs, hormones, or synthetic chemicals: organic chicken; organic cattle farming.
    Serving organic food: an organic restaurant.
    Simple, healthful, and close to nature: an organic lifestyle.”

    #7 states that “Chemistry. Of or designating carbon compounds.”

    So as usually defined when we say “organic” food we’re talking about the food as described above, not being made of artificial ingredients.

  4. October 27, 2005 1:23 pm

    Thanks for the lesson. That’s pretty much what I thought. Isn’t it ironic that THEY add stuff to the food to make it “better” yet it tastes worse and costs more to eat organic?

Leave a Reply

