Skip to content

What Are You Doin’?

August 25, 2005

I’m coming to the end of current devotional study, A 30-Day Walk With God in the Psalms by Nancy Leigh DeMoss which has been more like “A 30-Week Walk with God in the Psalms.” But that’s okay. I’ve learned a lot and benefited from really “studying” the Psalms, and not just reading Psalms like poetry. So I’ve been considering what to study next and wondered if any of you all who read this blog have any suggestions. Have you read any good devotional books, used some excellent study aides or commentaries? I was thinking about reading the second half of my “Bible in a Year” plan which I stopped from my Psalm study. I also was thinking of doing the Beth Moore “Beloved Disciple” study which my church is starting. Even though I won’t be able to attend the Bible study, I could do it on my own, which I’ve done before. Anyway, suggestions are appreciated!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2005 1:44 pm

    I started working on Beloved Disciple this past week. My schedule does not look condusive (spck) to doing the study with the woman, but I am only on week one and have already been blessed. Also I am studying Jeremiah and picked up a commentary by Calvin… which I expected to be a bear to get through. By God’s grace, though, this commentary is actually based upon lectures he gave at Geneva (spck)College/Seminary/University/School (whichever it tis).

  2. August 25, 2005 2:40 pm

    I am looking forward to going to the bible study. This has not been a very educational/spitually enlightening summer for me, I’m gonna need the study. If you and Amanda want to discuss the study over the internet with me, that might be fun. I can’t do any more nights out and I can’t get stuck on the phone but I do get some computer time each day, or even once a week. We could talk about the chapters etc. I’ll have the advantage of the small group questions and discussions. Let me know but I don’t start until Sept 20th?

  3. August 25, 2005 9:51 pm

    Danielle,
    I like anything by Beth Moore. Did you do Jesus, the ONe and ONly? It had me laughing and crying some mornings, but always more in love with Jesus than the day before.

    Seeking Him by Nancy DeMoss has also been good (on personal revival). I’m going to use in our curriculum this year, along w/ Bible Doctrine.

  4. August 26, 2005 5:17 pm

    Not to be on the “Beth Moore” kick, but I just finished an amazing study called: “Living Beyond Yourself ” that goes through the fruit of the Spirit. I actually did it right before church began doing a study on the Holy Spirit and it tied in very well as I learned so much about the power of the Holy Spirit in our every day lives and how to pursue the fruit. She spends a week on each manifestation of the fruit and mixes a lot of theology with a lot of practicality.

  5. August 28, 2005 3:38 pm

    Yes, I did the “Jesus, the One and Only” study. I started out going to the Bible study when I had part time jobs but had to finish it on my own when I got a full-time job. I also did the one about Paul with my old church. Karen and Amanda, I’d love to do an “online” question/discussion group thing. Maybe we should start a blog just for that! 🙂 Kristin, that other book by Moore sounds good too, I haven’t heard of that one, so I might have to get it, especially considering the series we’re doing at church. Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. August 28, 2005 11:11 pm

    I may want to get it on that, if you’ll have an old lady.

  7. August 29, 2005 8:30 pm

    I haven’t done an actual Bible study in ages. Probably because I never can make myself finish them. (I have this strange allergy to structure, even if it’s just what to read every day.) But what has been very enriching for me is simply reading through the Gospels several times. I’ve come away with a different and deeper picture of Christ (including the fact that half the time I have no idea what He’s talking about, and His disciples didn’t, either!).

    Anyway, for something unstructured but very enlightening, I recommend the Gospels.

    — SJ

  8. August 29, 2005 10:49 pm

    Thanks Sara. Can’t go wrong there, can I?

Leave a Reply

