Skip to content

My Day so Far . . .

July 21, 2005

1.) Figured out how to get to the Mac share drive (where we store many files) on our new Power Mac which is different from how we did it on our old one. This took a call to our IT guy who responded (add Russian accent): “The Mac support guy showed me how to log on. It’s easier than the old way. But I don’t remember though. I don’t know Macs.” So helpful! I figured it out . . . eventually.

2.) Worked on getting a new roll of paper into the printer which took an hour of coaxing by myself and our intern. The printer was being fussy and needed naps inbetween tries to clear it’s “brain”.

3.) Printed all eleven files of our updated elevator signage to proof. This took about an hour or so.

Such productivity. (Note the sarcasm.) Now I’m going to eat lunch. All that made me ravenous!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2005 3:48 pm

    Ah, yes, the wonders of technology! Working in MSWord all the time, I’m constantly amazed that most people have no idea that the program has settings, which are meant to help you! And, yes, you can change them to do cool things…if you have super magical powers like mine, LOL. My favorite phrase to hear at the office; “Word just keeps changing things!” It’s like Magic! Yup, and whether you like it or not, technically, your “magic” told it to “change things” by you either doing something or not doing something to the settings. This concept totally boggles their minds. It can take 4-6 hours for treatment and recovery from this revelation! Matching your sarcasm D- and feeling the pain!

  2. July 21, 2005 5:47 pm

    Wait ’til you have kids…much less productivity will happen than w/ technology! 🙂

  3. July 21, 2005 8:33 pm

    And then wait till you have kids who like the technology too much. Productivity is as battered as a crash test dummy.

  4. July 22, 2005 12:09 am

    Doesn’t it boggle your mind, Dani? I remember when my computer would have to be taken to Steve Cole to be fixed … for days my life was on hold. Academic productivity had to take a backseat evenwhile attempting to fit in trips to the library between 9pm and 11pm.

  5. July 24, 2005 3:13 pm

    Dani, all I can say is I wish I had time in my day to Blog!! =/ But even if I could, stupid B-more City has all blogs blocked.

Leave a Reply

