Skip to content

Bastile Day!

July 14, 2005

The irony is, of course, Marie-Antoinette would not have been celebrating Bastile Day, but oh well. I dressed up for the Walters’ “Let Them Eat Cake” event which included a choice between three French related art tours then free cake. The cake looked like the French flag! The kids had a great time and I got to tell the story of Marie-Antoinette and explain why I wasn’t dead. “No, I’m the pretend Marie-Antoinette, the real one died.” Then I stayed for our evening event “The Essence of Wine” which was wine tasting and gourmet food with a band. That was a little weird to be dresed up for, I have to say. I liked hanging out with the kids better.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2005 9:54 pm

    Bonjour, Marie-Antoinette. Tu es jolie en cette costume.
    Bravo. J’aime les cheveux gris!

    Les images son magnifique.

    Avec l’amour,
    Zoanna

  2. July 16, 2005 12:25 am

    Is that YOUR hair? yuck, haha!

  3. July 16, 2005 7:49 am

    Danielle you look beautiful! God has gifted you with a classic look that spans time… how long did it take to put on the costume?

  4. July 17, 2005 9:04 pm

    Wait, you can’t be Marie Antoinette… you’ve got a head… (how many people made that joke?)

    — SJ

  5. July 17, 2005 11:59 pm

    Danielle- I love it girl! You look like a porcelin (spelling?) doll!
    Sach

  6. July 18, 2005 9:28 am

    No, not my hair, I went with a wig. The whole getting dressed process took about 45 minutes to an hour counting hair and hat. It didn’t feel that heavy when I first put the costume on, but by the evening it did! The wire “cage” that held the skirts up was hurting my back, so I was glad to get it off!

  7. July 18, 2005 7:28 pm

    Wow Danielle! What an interesting job you have! You look beautiful. God bless! -Beth Kilbane

  8. August 16, 2007 1:32 pm

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

Leave a Reply

