Skip to content

Why Read Novels?

May 19, 2005

“‘Oh! it is only a novel!’ . . . or, in short, only some work in which the greatest powers of mind are displayed, in which the most thorough knowledge of human nature, the happiest delineation of its varieties, the lifeliest effusions of wit and humour are conveyed to the world in the best chosen lanuage.”
– Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2005 10:38 pm

    In plain English, please! 🙂

    Isn’t it funny how most people are either fiction readers or not?
    I’m usually in the “not” category.

  2. May 20, 2005 9:47 am

    I used to devour fiction, although not now as much as I used to. Right now I’m taking a break from fiction after reading the “Anna Karenina,” which just may be the best piece of fiction I’ve ever read in my life. I typically read 18th C. stuff, because, like Karenina, there was more purpose to them than entertainment, something today’s fiction often lacks. I LOVE memoirs and creative non-fiction, so I just finished “Reading Lolita in Tehran” which excellent and have a small list of some other memoirs I want to get to.

  3. May 22, 2005 6:40 pm

    I’m an equal opportunity reader (fiction and non.). Anna Karinina is my favorite next to Middlemarch. If you haven’t read it Danielle, you’d probably like it. Right now I’m reading Elizabeth and Mary: Cousins, Rivals, Queens. It is fascinating. I am also on a Chalotte Mason kick (For the Sake of the Children, and The Charlotte Mason Companion). I LOVE reading – if you can’t tell – it is truly a passion!

  4. May 23, 2005 11:14 am

    I’ll have to look into Middlemarch. I know I’ve heard it recommended before. I haven’t read much of George Eliot, I mainly know of her. I’m also familiar with Charlotte Mason too. I’ve thought that I’d love to start a book club someday. I’d used to be in one once a month when I was in high school, and it was part of my homeschool co-op and I loved it. I was thinking it would be such a cool thing to do again, maybe once I’m a stay-at-home wife/mom. And we could alternate between fiction and non-fiction. Fun stuff and theology. Would anybody be interested/have time for that in the future? It’s cool, at CLC CJ is doing a church-wide bookclub, but of course that’s huge and you can’t really discuss. I think 300 people attended the first one and they broke into a whole bunch of groups. Anyway, just throwing the idea out there.

  5. May 24, 2005 7:50 am

    I would love it. A long time ago, Josh’s dad, Lee had a reading/ writing club. Four or five of us would meet to discuss either something we were reading or writing. It was very cool. He got me on a Henry James kick, actually. Anyway, I’d be up for it.

  6. Naomi permalink
    June 2, 2005 6:24 pm

    I would love to attend a book club. I am an avid reader and would enjoy it greatly! Anna Karenina is an amazing book.

Leave a Reply

