Skip to content

Welcome to Dance by the Light of the Moon!

April 13, 2005

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a month or so now and I’ve finally given in. I’ve enjoyed reading my friend’s blogs so much that I figured, if it’s so much fun reading and interacting with people through their blogs, having one would surely be fun as well.

My main purpose for a blog is also to write more regularly and that this might be a way to spur myself on. If I have an outlet which provides immediate gratification, I might be more consistent! I won’t have to wait for rejection letters or preferably, acceptance letters, to see my work in print. I’ll be posting some articles I’ve written as well as simple musings, so I’d love to hear constructive thoughts on anything you read or suggestions for improvement, etc.

You might be wondering about the title of my blog, “Dance by the Light of the Moon.” Quite simply, I thought and thought about a cool, simple title and came up with nothing. But this phrase is the title of my most recent story and the quote from a song my grandmother used to sing, which goes:

“Buffalo Gals won’t you come out tonight,
Come out tonight, come out tonight,
Buffalo Gals ain’t ya comin’ out tonight
To dance by the light of the moon!”
My grandmother’s life has been an inspiration to me and she used to encourage me to write. Her stories have also been material that I’ve obsessed over and rewritten in some form over and over again. So I guess it’s appropriate that the name of this blog is inspired by her as well.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2005 1:25 pm

    Welcome to the neighborhood! Blogging’s great stuff. Glad you’ve got on!

    — SJ

  2. April 13, 2005 3:14 pm

    That was Judith she says ur a funny dude nelly! Anyway i like the name u choose for ur Blog we hope it works well for uall see ya on sat.

  3. April 14, 2005 1:04 pm

    Very touching blog name. So romantic. Maybe I should rename mine to honor someone who inspired me to write. So many of them. Take a vote: adatomata, rsmith, charsny, sistercollette, momndad. I didn’t get very mushy about it: zztalks. Anyone who knows me can easily figure out why.

    Looking forward to reading more of your work.

    If you’re serious about getting constructive criticism, I’d love to swap some with you!

  4. April 15, 2005 8:25 am

    Zoanna,

    I’d love to swap some writing with you, I am serious about constructive criticism, so bring it on! Were you thinking about swapping hard copies of work to mark up?

    Danielle

  5. April 16, 2005 6:21 pm

    Hey girl, looking forward to reading your stuff!!

  6. April 19, 2005 2:02 pm

    You know, it was years before I realized that the song wasn’t about “Buffalo Cows.” Which actually makes more sense, really.

    — SJ

  7. Anonymous permalink
    April 25, 2005 9:03 pm

    Nanny would be so pleased and proud, and so am I.

  8. April 27, 2005 9:07 pm

    Hard copies are great. We could send Word docs as attachments by email and exchange in person, as much or as little as desired.

    Give me a call whenever.–>

Trackbacks

  1. Dance by the Light of the Moon: A Prelude « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

